We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request a table by the windows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Noisy Oyster

Noisy Oyster
24 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
843 824 1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Request a table by the windows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The first table we were seated at was behind the bar. NO breeze and absolutely stifling. The hostess was kind enough to move us to a table by the windows, where there was a nice breeze. I ordered the shrimp and grits and it was delicious!!! The price was very reasonable, as well - I think it was $9 for the lunch order. It was served with a mouth-watering piece of corn bread. Definitely worth a trip back. Service was about average, but it was Labor Day weekend and very crowded. Perhaps, she had a lot of tables to take care of.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    430
    301
    144
    85
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy Oyster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited in May as part of our anniversary trip. The open air at lunch was very comfortable and the food and service was excellent!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Noisy Oyster Rave Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We live in Canada but are frequent visitors to Surfside Beach (Myrtle Beach) SC. We discovered the Noisy Oyster in Charleston a few years ago and have been there many times since then. Our most recent visit was on Friday, August 30, 2013. My son and I motorcycled the 90 miles south just to have lunch at this wonderful restaurant. It's in a perfect location and the food and service, as always, were superb. Our server was Wendy and she was helpful, cheerful and prompt. We will continue to eat this fine restaurant whenever we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great First Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We went looking for dinner tonight, even though I had brought dinner. Wandered up the street to the Noisy Oyster. Food great, serving sizes plentiful, and service was excellent. Wendy, our waitress, was probably the best server we have had in Charleston on a long time. Keep it up, Wendy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are looking for fancy, this isn't your spot. If you are looking for thick A/C, this isn't your spot. If you are in a hurry, this isn't your spot. But, the food was great! The servers were friendly. The location is ideal if you are already in Charleston. I highly recommend shrimp and grits spring roll. I also liked the shrimp po boy sandwich.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noisy Oyster also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Noisy Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noisy Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.