We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noisy Oyster Seafood Restaurant

Noisy Oyster Seafood Restaurant
24 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Upper Concord Street)
+1 843-824-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Upper Concord Street
Description: Our seafood is caught in our own backyard, the Atlantic Ocean. You can always count on local and fresh at Noisy Oyster. Locally owned and operated since 1992.
1 review
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed our dining experience at the Noisy Oyster! Great food, great atmosphere and service like no other! Ashley was our server and was very attentive to us to ensure we had the best dining experience possible! We look forward to returning...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    337
    160
    96
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food at this place is ok, but compared to other restaurants in downtown Charleston, it's really nothing special. However, what disappointed me the most was the service. The young hostess was very rude and her reception almost made us go someplace else. When she couldn't hear one of our questions, she looked at us in a very unfriendly way and said "I don't understand what you're saying". The restaurant's location and atmosphere is nice though and that's what attracts the tourist customers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Typical quick seafood menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I wished we had walked down a few blocks because we wanted to watch some of the college bowl games that weekend and that was not happening here. They have several televisions but they are all about 12" screens, the largest about 32".

You get what you pay for here. It's right in the middle of the "tourist trap" downtown Charleston so a lot of people just "end up" here because it's at the end of the market strip and a lot of the other restaurants around the area are a little more formal and quite pricey if all you're looking for is a quick sandwich and drink. The menu is typical of a variety of quick seafood, burgers, sandwiches or buckets of steamed oysters.

You may have to be vocal about opening or keeping the windows shut if seated next to a window as they are large windows covering about 2 1/2 booths and although it was 50 degrees outside the waiter kept trying to open the windows. He sat one table and asked if they wanted the window open, they said no... a few minutes later he sat another table and tried to open the window 'for them' even though it would completely expose the FIRST couple that just asked not to have the window open.

Overall if you get to the end of the market and you're hungry, craving steamed oysters and don't need to watch anything on TV, this is a good place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and kid freindly waiter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Never been to this restaurant but menu looked really good. Was seated really quickly, considering we had a party of 6. Food was really good, prompt service, waiter was really good too! I would highly recommend this place for good lunch or dinner. Very close to all the attractions in Downtown Charleston, SC.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Mississippi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So glad we tried it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Looking for seafood but lots of the places with rave reviews were overcrowded. Decided to try this place on a whim and we were soooo glad we did! my favorite was the hot cheesy shrimp and crab dip (the server pointed out there were 2 crab dips on the menu and one was cold). My husband loves good raw oysters (whatever that is lol) and he said these and the sauce for them was great. We really enjoyed the atmosphere... Felt small town friendly and the music was some I loved from 80's and 90's.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noisy Oyster Seafood Restaurant also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Noisy Oyster Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noisy Oyster Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.