We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice to walk through” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Market

Charleston Market
170 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3141 (Downtown)
843-722-4455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice to walk through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Lots of the same type items for sale. some cool vendors. we bought some craft jellies, which were good. a local flavor experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    102
    77
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Although I didn't buy a lot, I loved walking through the market and just looking. The vendors were not pushy, so was able to wander, look and talk without being bothered. A must see!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for artisans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wonderful market filled with hand-made items like saw grass baskets, oyster shell trinkets, yummy pecans, wooden carvings, hand-made scarves, and more. I think I even heard some of the women who were making the baskets speaking Gullah!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice, even to all the tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

loved the convenience and homemade / local items. Bought a beautiful, hand painted t-shirt, so pretty that even locals gave me compliments on the shirt.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“wow lots of stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Mostly open air, couple of enclosed buildings just off bay street. Local art and trinkets, baskets made on the spot. Local artist with lots of Charleston pictures, photos, a few oils and pastels. Local food, gourmet cakes and cookies. Of course there is junk also.. but its the experience your going for...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Market also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.