We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Market to market to buy a future yard sale item!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Market

Charleston Market
170 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3141 (Downtown)
843-722-4455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pinson, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“To Market to market to buy a future yard sale item!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

With the exception of The Historic Shops of Charleston, local artists, and a handful of nicer retailers, the Market is a menagerie of items found at every flea market in the South. The Historic Shops of Charleston is a non-profit organization, so there is no tax on items purchased and most items are of better quality. Purchase only sweet grass baskets made AND SIGNED by the local artists. They are expensive but worth every penny. Skip the shopping, and spend your time in Charleston enjoying Folly Beach, the plantations, or the benches along the Battery!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    113
    87
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastover, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A tourist mecca, but with a southern flavor. Lots to see and do - carriage rides, ghost tours, sight seeing, and visiting Charleston Southern University

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Clean with well organized and quality vendors.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Unfortunately, many tourist markets like this are dirty and not well kept up. Many times you are dealing with just the $3 tee shirt or flea market type of place (not talking about the French Market in New Orleans but close). Anyway, the tables were well organized, vendors friendly with items of good tourist quality. Whoever manages and maintains this facility should be proud (and get a raise).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
27546
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice to look around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It wasn't as good as I thought it would be. Having grown up around the beach all of the stuff sold in the market look pretty much like you see every where else except it has "Charleston" on it. It is work a walk through but don't expect any bargains.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Liberty, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots of fun! Have plenty of time and plenty of $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first stop right after our morning carriage ride. We arrived around 10:30 and it was PACKED...on a Wednesday morning! Booths are full of everything from; jewelry, crafts, hand woven sweetgrass baskets, cookies, shoes, the list goes ON and ON! My wife had a broken foot during our visit and had to use a "knee caddy" cart. Although everything was handicap accessible the crowds and cramped quarters did make it difficult for her to navigate through certain areas. My daughters (ages 4 and 6) LOVED it! They had no trouble spending their allowances. I was hoping for more food/fruit/veggie vendors, but really it is NOT that kind of market. There were several food vendors (permanent shops) and one gentleman selling fruit but that was it. Seems like the farmer's market on Saturdays is the place to be if you are looking for that sort of thing. Everyone was extremely nice and welcoming and willing to answer questions. I would say give yourself at least an hour and a half to walk from one end to the next (if not more).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Market also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.