We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Restaurant & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Athens Restaurant & Grill
1939 Maybank Hwy, Charleston, SC 29412 (James Island)
(843) 762-1229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 735 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Greek, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: James Island
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at this place since the early 80's and they have been very consistant over the years. Great steaks, great chicken and the best gyros I've had. The waitress was not the best on our last visit but the good food more than makes up for the slow service. Usually the service is as good as the food. Can hardly wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    12
    7
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one of my "go to" places when wanting a casual place to eat with friends. The food is fantastic with good Greek selections. There is a nice patio and the service is great. The ambience is OK, the place is not too noisy so it's a great place to be when you want to be able to talk and hear your friends and not spend a lot of money. The wine list is spotty and that would be my only complaint.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta Ga
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Really glad we happened upon this place. Very nice atmosphere, great food at really fantastic prices. You'll be greeted at the door and seated by the owner, Vasilios. Try the 4 course dinner Mon.-Thur. for only $16.00!!! You'll leave with a doggy bag even if you're a big eater with a big appetite like me. I was with someone who lived in Greece for 3 years and she said the food was indistinguishable from anything across the pond. Their house greek salad dressing was really great but sadly they wouldn't share the ingredients.
Don;t forget the dessert. Baklava and something else I can't pronounce (let alone spell) was akin to what we get once a year at our city's annual Greek festival.
Great food at really reasonable prices....we will return next time we're in the area. Restaurant is actually on James Island on Maybank road. Very short drive from downtown Charleston.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good value with a Greek flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a favorite fallback for us when we are undecided as to where we want to go. The food is tasty, and the prices are not particularly high. I am not sure how much has been sacrificed in authenticity in order to satisfy most palates, but the genre is obviously Greek. If one is looking for a different style of food, without risking upsetting or surprising your guests, this would be an excellent choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Just fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for years as we like Greek food. I tried the Egg plant with spaghetti dish which was excellent and very tasty. The stuffed chicken was fair as was the Gyro which was mediocre. I would skip the Gyro at this restaurant. The service was very good. Atmosphere is acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Restaurant & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Athens Restaurant & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Restaurant & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.