We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Restaurant & Grill

Athens Restaurant & Grill
1939 Maybank Hwy, Charleston, SC 29412 (James Island)
(843) 762-1229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Greek, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: James Island
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Just fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for years as we like Greek food. I tried the Egg plant with spaghetti dish which was excellent and very tasty. The stuffed chicken was fair as was the Gyro which was mediocre. I would skip the Gyro at this restaurant. The service was very good. Atmosphere is acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great pita”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had the best chicken pita here. The pita bread had to have been made earlier that morning. It was awesome. They grilled the pita bread slightly and the chicken was nicely grilled too. The others in my party had pizza, which looked ok. They said it wasn't spectacular like our pitas. The Greek salads looked pretty good too. We had the whole place to ourselves so the service was good. I'd go back for another pita for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“One of the best Greek restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I recently just ordered from Athens because a lot of my coworkers had mentioned how great their food was. They had generous portions that was in my budget and I took the leftovers home for later. I was pleased with my order of their Beef Kabob and I will be sure to recommend Athens to friends and family in the future. I know they have a lot of options to choose from and I would take a look at their website for other menu options (http://www.athensofcharleston.com/) I look forward to going back and trying some of their other dishes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Greek at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

You don't think of Greek food when you come to Charleston, but a quick trip to Athens will change your mind. Very authentic Greek menu. We did notice a lot of locals coming in and out--seems to be popular among locals. Owner came out and talked with us afterwards, as he did with a number of the tables--adds a nice personal touch to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Met my expectations and then some”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I ordered takeout from Athens because I wanted a different pizza than what I have been getting from the other local pizza spots. I wasn't disappointed by the Athens Special as the crust, the sauce and the ingredients were fresher and also resulted in a far less greasy product than some other local pizza places. I also ordered an appetizer of the calamari and a Greek Chicken Salad. The Calamari was cooked a little too long for my taste, this only disappointed me because the person that took my order spoke highly of this dish. The Greek Chicken salad was excellent and considering I had it a whole day later than when I ordered it that is saying something. The only negative I would say is that the food is more expensive than most Greek Diners I have frequented but most aren't that nice atmosphere wise. I am really looking forward to going in to eat there next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Restaurant & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Athens Restaurant & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Restaurant & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.