We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful leisurely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
72 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220 (Downtown)
843-577-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Poogan's Porch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful leisurely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I returned to Charleston last week on a beautiful warm spring day, and once again had lunch at Poogans with my son and his fiancé. It was a civilized experience with excellent service and melt in your mouth food. The fried chicken was superb as was the pork chop. And always those wonderful biscuits!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,875
    789
    290
    82
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great place offering Southern food staples in a lovely setting. If the weather is nice, definitely sit outside. Those tables are pet friendly too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Indifferent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I must have been at a totally different restaurant from the rest of the reviewers, because my experience was not a particularly positive one. We got there early, hoping to settle in the bar for a relaxing few drinks before our meal. “Well, it’s okay if you can find any room at the bar,” the hostess said. “It’s crowded.” That was apparently a hint that we should go elsewhere, but it was a hint that we didn’t take. It wasn’t crowded. The four stools at the tiny bar were occupied, but two long tables next to it were empty. We sat a one but were told by the hostess, “You can’t sit there -- that’s only for diners.” Two of the bar seats emptied at that moment so the three of us squeezed into that space and proceeded to watch as one group after another occupied the tables with drinks-only, with never a word of reprimand from the hostess or anyone else. In fact, the bartender/waiter for that area said, “No problem,” when told by one group that they were just waiting for their table. About 15 minutes after our reservation time had passed, the Kyle the bartender (the only bright spot on an otherwise dismal service staff) went to check on our reservation for us. He came back with menus and said that he’d seat us. Our waiter appeared promptly, took our order and said, as he walked away, “I’ll be right back with buttermilk biscuits.” That was the last we saw of him (at our table) until well into our meal. Thirty minutes after our order was taken, our food came out and a minute after that, the biscuits. “Straight out of the oven,” said the person who brought them. They were hot and fluffy and the best part of the meal. We saw our waiter again for the first time since he took our order about half-way through. “Everything okay?” he asked. Just “okay,” would be a good description. My friends liked their fried chicken and mashed potatoes, but not the pimento slaw. I hated the shrimp and grits I’d ordered. It had a cloying sweetness that overwhelmed the dish, and I don’t think of shrimp and grits being Frosted Flakes sweet. The second flavor (I think on the shrimp) was spicy chili, which perhaps was meant to balance the sweetness. For me, it didn’t work (the best shrimp and grits I’ve ever had was in Charleston many years ago, at Magnolia’s). We had gone to dinner intending to have a damn-all-calories dessert splurge, but we felt like we were inconveniencing them by being there, so decided not to extend the experience. The prices at the restaurant are reasonable – our total bill for the evening (five drinks and three entrees) was about $150.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Love Poogan's Porch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have never had a bad meal here. It is not only popular with tourists, but locals as well. Friendly service, and consistently good food. The sweet story about the name of the restaurant is quite heart warming & fascinating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charleston tradition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very nice staff, accommodated a lunch group of 10 w/previous reservation. Nice variety on the menu & plates brought out timely. Shrimp & grits were good, could have been warmer. Others enjoyed chicken sliders, chicken and dumplings were different w/ gnocchi but overall a nice lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poogan's Porch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.