We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Southern Food in a Classic Charleston Fashion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poogan's Porch

Poogan's Porch
72 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220 (Downtown)
843-577-2337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Poogan's Porch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting & King
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fun Southern Food in a Classic Charleston Fashion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had read the TA reviews as well as had some friends that recommended Poogan's Porch for either brunch or lunch so while we were shopping on King Street, we went around the corner & had lunch there. I had to have the fried chicken & waffles & they were delicious. The chicken was crispy on the outside & tender inside with a great flavor like fried chicken cooked at home. My wife needed a salad so she ordered one with chicken it & it turned out to be a fried chicken breast like my dish & was equally delicious. A small, but very pleasant surprise was the salad dressing that was a creamy, honey & jalapeno mix so it had sweet & hot. It was good on the salad, but even better with the fried chicken dish. The dishes were so large, we didn't get a desert. Our server was pleasant & responded quickly in a friendly manner.
The restaurant is an old two-story home with lots of Charleston pictures of before & after the Civil War. Lots of charm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for dining at Poogan's Porch. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see y'all soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,878
    790
    290
    82
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Had been meaning to get to Poogan's Porch for a while and finally made it only to be a little disappointed. Nothing was bad, but nothing really stood out, either. She Crab Soup was good, but served in a fairly small portion. Scallops were big but nothing special. The seafood pasta dish was, again, just OK. The honey biscuits served before the starters were flaky to the point of completely falling apart. A good biscuit should hold together. The bread pudding dessert was --again-- good, but nothing special. The atmosphere is pleasant, the service good. But nothing here elevates Poogan's to the level of the very best of Charleston. I doubt we'll return in one of our annual Charleston visits.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and for your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to win back your favor. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I really researched which restuarants to try and was not disappointed that I chose Poogan's Porch as one of my picks. The restaurant was in a charming, nicely decorated house. The service, food, and ambience were all very good.. I did not like the biscuits as well as those at Fleet's Landing, but really enjoyed everything else. My husband raved about the gravy that came with his fried chicken (he asked for it on the side and then asked them to bring him more). I had the contemporary stuffed chicken which was good, but if I went back again I would order the regular fried chicken. It was excellent. We arrived early but had to sit at the bar, which was fine, until our reserved time. Be sure to make a reservation, even in November which is not prime time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and we look forward to your next visit. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A little disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our waiter was OK but not particularly attentive or good at providing information or excitement about the menu.

Food was mediocre and atmosphere a little disappointing. I had the Fried Green Tomato BLT. The bread was toasted to the point where a second late would of been burnt. The inside was soggy. Flavor was bland.

The restaurant is clean but a little run down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and for letting us know about your experience. We wish that you have had told us while in the restaurant. Please come back to see us soon. Luis Rodriguez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Smoky Mountains, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch in a lovely old home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived early for lunch, on a rainy day, and got in without a reservation. We were seated in the back room, which was quite pleasant. I had the shrimp & grits, for which they are known, and it was excellent. My husband enjoyed the crab cakes, and liked the stewed tomato & okra on the side. The service was good, and the prices fairly reasonable for the quality of food. Portions were generous without being overwhelming.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofPoogans, General Manager at Poogan's Porch, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and we hope to serve you again soon. Luis Rodriguez, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poogan's Porch also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Poogan's Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poogan's Porch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.