We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Steppin' in Hot Cotton, Charleston, SC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill

High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill
199 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2605 (Downtown)
+1 843-724-3815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Description: High Steppin' Lowcountry Living. It's a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You'll find it in our gracious, knowledgable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable cocktail and wine program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High Steppin' in Hot Cotton, Charleston, SC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent food and pure Southern ambience. Wonderful fried oysters--can't wait to try them again.
My husband's delicious whole yellow snapper practically overlapped the large plate and my halibut, with large
white moist flakes was perfectly cooked. Bar scene was lively--re noise level, we asked the hostess to find
a quiet area which she did, giving us a table in a smaller room off the main interest.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    293
    114
    51
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average food average service at this restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food was ok, the waiter average. Not worth he money. Most of the steak was great. We asked to be seated in the main dining room, because it was nicer in there. They tried to sit us in a tiny room to the side, even though there were empty tables. She said she knew we asked for the main dining room , but it would be 10 more minutes to sit there. We waited. Probably won't eat there again, not worth the money for the food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Party Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Excellent food and service. We had to put together tables for a group of 16 at the last minute in the late afternoon and High Cotton did it in a breeze. The wait staff were friendly and added to our anniversary celebration, but most importantly, did not miss a beat on our varied orders. Classic Southern mansion interior was elegant but not stuffy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“If you are in High Cotton...Try High Cotton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Yes folks, it is pricey. What do you expect from a restaurant called "High Cotton" in Charleston, SC? But it is also beautiful, elegant, and classy. It has superb food, an amazing wait staff, and great music. It manages all of this, without feeling stuffy. There were people in ties and others in shorts. Every dish was prepared so well. Our waitress was one of the best we've ever had. I wish this restaurant was near my home so that I could celebrate every fine occasion there. I've tried maybe a dozen Charleston restaurants and this ranks right up at the top. Be sure not to miss it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Felt like Royaty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service makes you feel
as though you are the only customer. Management very nice and professional. The chef even stopped by to check on us. Food is excellent. Great wine list. Bluegrass band plays in the bar on Mondays. There were 14 of us and we all enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.