We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal with friendly attentive service near waterfront.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill

High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill
199 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2605 (Downtown)
+1 843-724-3815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Description: High Steppin' Lowcountry Living. It's a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You'll find it in our gracious, knowledgable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable cocktail and wine program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with friendly attentive service near waterfront.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Amazing fillet mignon, halibut, lamb chops, mussels. Very friendly and casual feeling, yet also elegant. Would definitely go again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    293
    114
    51
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have been here numerous times, but a years ago. Was my favorite place to go, but not the case any longer. The host seemed annoyed by our 8:00 on Monday arrival without reservations, said it'd be an hour, was maybe 25 minutes. Service not great, I ordered a glass of wine, which never came. Appetizer was not good at all and neither was main course. Many wonderful places to go in Charleston, but sadly this isn't one of them anymore!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
1 review
“Poor Food Preparation!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Friends ordered the crab bisque and it was very dilute bisque with no sign of any crab meat and had very little crab flavor. I ordered the lamb barbeque sandwich which "looked" like it was loaded with BBQ lamb meat but only 2 smalls pieces were edible! The rest was totally fat and stringy gristle which was not even chewable. The French fries were soggy as if they had been made ahead of time and stored for service. I was NOT impressed at all and would NOT recommend wasting money on this place. There are many more finer restaurants in Charleston.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment in the heart of Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

While jazz is normally the preferred music in Charleston, we were hoping to hear Bluegrass. As luck would have it our concierge called got find that a Bluegrass band would, in fact, be playing that night.

We arrived after dinner, the host was very gracious to seat us right in front of the band, adjacent to the bar. We ordered our drinks and settled in to hear some fantastic music provided by a band called "Cattle in the Cane" which we understand we can find & follow on u-tube until they do their own CD.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked this restaurant because the menu provided something for everyone. The chef did not disappoint. I wanted calamari as an appetizer and could not find it on any other menu at places I ate. I'm used to fried calamari but this chef's boiled creation was spectacular. It was served with a tasty sauce. My friend's dinner selection was steak, which she said was perfectly cooked and a great cut of beef. The waiters were very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. A jazz band playing in the lounge did not disturb dinner, and was a nice touch. A foodies paradise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.