We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific; twice in one week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill

High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill
199 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2605 (Downtown)
+1 843-724-3815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Description: High Steppin' Lowcountry Living. It's a feeling of warmth and celebration that begins the moment you step inside. You'll find it in our gracious, knowledgable servers, expertly prepared dishes and a remarkable cocktail and wine program. From conversation and laughter in our bar to our stylish dining rooms of heart pine floors and antique brick, you'll come to understand true Charleston hospitality. That is, there's always cause for celebration - of our neighbors, our food and drink and each other. It's our great pleasure to share it with you.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Terrific; twice in one week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The lounge experience was so great we returned two days later which is high praise considering there are many great bars to choose from in this area of the city. Live music on Wednesday and Friday and easy enough to get a great table; the truffle popcorn was a decadent treat...the house made sausage on their charcuterie plate also excellent and the mussel/clams were perfect for sharing. Great service and nice house drink specials during happy hour too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    293
    114
    51
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

High Cotton is a beautiful restaurant and atmosphere. The food was delicious---enjoyed the presentation and the flavors---the service was excellent as well. Also had drinks at the bar and enjoyed the live jazz.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“They treated us incredibly well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The food, drinks and service were top notch. Salt roasted beet salad was amazing. Chicken over southern peas was really good. Husband had corn bisque and pork entree...he is still talking about both. They also make a perfect martini.
Enjoy this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“On cloud nine in High Cotton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have had many an occasion to enjoy both dinner and late lunch at this fine establishment, and never anything but fine dining and an excellent meal. We enjoy the very comefortable booths and the staff is very attentive and refined. We have never been disappointed and look forward to returning each time we visit this fine city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Happy Hour ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Even Happy Hour is special at High Cotton. We sat in the bar and enjoyed a live blue grass band. Seasonal cocktails were relish - my Hay Ride of bourbon and cinnamon and lemon was just right (actually I admit to two) and my husband's Charleston (High Cotton's take on a Long Island iced tea) was rated by him. We ate some deep fried cremini mushrooms with sweet pepper and horseradish sauce which was a wonderful cool contrast and had just the right amount of tang.
We were sad, as ever, to leave!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.