We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill

High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill
199 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2605 (Downtown)
843-724-3815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Happy Hour ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Even Happy Hour is special at High Cotton. We sat in the bar and enjoyed a live blue grass band. Seasonal cocktails were relish - my Hay Ride of bourbon and cinnamon and lemon was just right (actually I admit to two) and my husband's Charleston (High Cotton's take on a Long Island iced tea) was rated by him. We ate some deep fried cremini mushrooms with sweet pepper and horseradish sauce which was a wonderful cool contrast and had just the right amount of tang.
We were sad, as ever, to leave!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    582
    221
    88
    45
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great experience again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten both lunch & dinner at High Cotton. The food, service, and atmosphere have always been top notch. We dined here this past Saturday night. The place was hopping, but it never got loud. Our server was very attentive & we loved our food. This is definitely one of our favorites!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brunch was good, service could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My fiancée and I had several friends in town this weekend, and we wanted to take everyone to a nice brunch. We have eaten dinner here on several occasions, but this was our first brunch here and will probably be our last. The food was good, nothing to write home about, but the waiter was one of the worse that I have had in Charleston. I work in the hospitality industry, and in a town like Charleston, there is no excuse for less than adequate service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Southern cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A wonderful experience with good Southern cooking.
The corn bread fried Oysters were fresh and properly cooked.
We had tasty salads, the the very best Pecan Chocolate Pie.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Met expectations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very good reviews on trip advisor and otherwise led us there. Busy place. Very attractive interior. Ordered the flounder but was tempted by the bacon wrapped rabbit loin. Flounder was very good. Rabbit loin was also good I was told. High Cotton is obviously a popular spot for tourists. It is in the historic district and near excellent hotels and b and bs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.