We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful brunch, with a live old time jazz band in the background.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill

High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill
199 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2605 (Downtown)
843-724-3815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cumberland
Lancaster, Pa.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch, with a live old time jazz band in the background.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a fantastic brunch at High Cotton, with Benjamin as our server. The ambiance was terrific; although, we wish we could have been in the room with the jazz band. Our server had a great personality, with many recommendations for places to see, places to go, while in Charleston. The omelets we had were, as advertised - good! and the Bloody Mary's a perfect complement, made with their own special "mix". This was a wonderful start to our Sunday morning! We will definitely go back, the next time we visit this amazing city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    257
    100
    48
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just had dinner there while I was on a girls trip during resturant week. All of our dishes were fantastic! The service was great and they also have a great wine selection. Hats off to you guys.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High Cotton, High Marks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Food is always excellent at this upper end restraurant. Menu is a good mix of steak, beef, pork, chicken and fish. Starters are excellent; their cheese board is a great start for the whole table or try the Charcuterie plate. Pricy but never been disappointed! Atmosphere is enhanced by a 3 piece jazz band in the bar area.
Love it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ate at High Cotton during restaurant week, but got an entree from their regular menu, the ny strip, spectacular!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Disappointed after all these years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been dining at High Cotton for over 10 years. Our daughter's Rehearsal dinner was here in 2007. It was the first restaurant in Charleston we ever visited and we are Maverick club members. BUT I have to say that the last couple of times we have been, we have been disappointed. The chef has changed, I fear, and the food has not been up to the high standards of previous visits. We are so so sad! We love the ambience, and the gracious plantation-style dining rooms; live jazz on some evenings; the high booths at the back. But ever since the rooms were altered and it seemed to become part of the hotel next door, the standard has just not been the same. I fear we are going to change our loyalties. Very sad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Cotton Maverick Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.