We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service...simply elegant ambience...great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Grill

Charleston Grill
224 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3102
843-577-4522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charleston Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Description: The Charleston Grill offers Contemporary Lowcountry cuisine featuring fresh local produce, seafood & game, prepared with a French accent. Emphasis is placed on the quality of the ingredients, unique presentations & sophisticated textures. Local ingredients include rabbit, oysters, crabmeat, shrimp, fish, duck, greens & grains. Paneled walls, herringbone floors, softly padded carver chairs & local folk art blend with live jazz to create an elegant, but casual setting. The private Vintner's Room features walls of glass-fronted wine cellars showcasing the impressive stock of vintages from around the world.
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional service...simply elegant ambience...great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

With a last minute reservation we navigated our way to the Charleston Grill over the Valentines weekend. We were dressed somewhat casual after a day touring Magnolia Plantation, however we were graciously welcomed and shown to a nice table. Our servers Josh and John were friendly, informative and attentive. We enjoyed a Ricotta and Iberico Ham appetizer (yummy) and our entrees were the rib eye (huge!!) and seared flounder (absolutely awesome). For dessert we enjoyed the crème brulee and cheese plate (despite being advised that the "candy bars" were the way to go). Everything was amazing - excellent presentation, portion size, flavor, freshness, etc. John was particularly helpful in recommending great wine pairings. The ambience was further enhanced by a lovely jazz quartet playing throughout our meal. Love the southern hospitality, being called by name, and the casually elegant atmosphere. Highly recommend this restaurant if you enjoy a high end atmosphere, quality food, good wine, nice jazz, all delivered up in an unpretentious way. Nice job Charleston Grill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    87
    34
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes....anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Fabulous restaurant, and in a city filled with one great restaurant after another it is quite an accomplishment to be in the Top 3.
Our dinner was perfect...from beginning to end. Our servers, Bryan and Femme, were knowledgeable, friendly and showed their passion for their jobs and the creative menu at The Charleston Grill.
Please order the crab cakes...I can promise, you an ahhhh moment.
We were a party of 3, each with a different entree, but all three of us ordered the crab cake. For entrees we ordered mahi mahi, the pork chop and the chicken...we shared, and raved about each , simply delicious.
As with the Palmetto Cafe, the French press coffee, another best cup of coffee anywhere must be ordered to finish a perfect meal.
A thank you to our luncheon server, another Brian, at Palmetto Cafe the day before for suggesting the Aztec Blend...
Another memorable meal....at Charleston Place Hotel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best meal I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had dinner here during a Charleston Food & Wine festival. The meal was probaly the best I ever had. 7 or 8 courses -- all paired with wines amnd nothing that wasn't spectacular. Prices are high but it was worht blowing the bank on this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get the Chef's tasting menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was hands down one of the best meals I have ever had! The service and ambiance was impeccable, but the food was the real star! We ordered the chef's tasting menu and it was a series of 5 outstanding courses- each prepared with the most meticulous detail! I couldn't stop eating, and could barely eat the last bites of my dessert because I was so full! Well worth the price! Also, our server treated us with our desserts of choice which was a wonderful surprise and a happy ending to our culinary adventure!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Expense Account Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Located in the Charleston Place Hotel, this restaurant is magnificently designed. It's opulent and reeks of old money & old world fawning service. There a sense of spaciousness and live music at dinner. The food is very good -- but nowhere nearly as "amazing" as others have describe. It is very good, but in light of the prices, it should be better and rate up there as one of the best meals.... Maybe this is a case of cognitive dissonance -- the more you pay the better it has to be. Hope this helps!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.