We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnolias To The Rescue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
185 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126 (Downtown)
843-577-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Magnolias To The Rescue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were in Charleston for the Spoleto Festival & needed an early dinner. Magnolia's
was the go-to restaurant. We've been here a few times over the past few years
and were presented with another outstanding presentation. Magnolia's has continued
to keep up with the times by serving creative menu items while still honoring its famous
Low-Country fare.

The room was near capacity & still allowed for pleasant conversation. Our server, Sam was
very helpful & friendly with spot-on recommendations on the specials & seasonal choices.
The service was well timed & not hurried.

To start, a very tasty soft-shell crab and the pan-seared scallops, both excellent. An Ahi Tuna
with chili rub plus the duck breast on blackened green tomatoes were outstanding mains.
The wine list is very nice with selections well paired to the menu. Again ( a Charleston
habit?), the beer selection was greatly in need of improvement. I would highly recommend
Magnolia's with the certainty you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,786
    620
    197
    58
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weston
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sooooooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This restaurant is beautifully, stylishly furnished. The staff is pleasant and well trained. The food is delicious and prices are fair. We had lunch one day and returned two days later for dinner. At lunch my burger was one of the best I've ever had. Dinner's fried chicken was seasoned to perfection. Don't miss this place!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Such a great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I were on our first trip in Charleston and stopped here for lunch. We wanted somewhere that was a little nicer but still affordable Southern fare, and this place was perfect. I ordered the green fried tomato BLT sandwich on corn jalapeno Panini pressed bread and it was fantastic! They have a lot of delicious looking homemade sides to choose from as well, but I got the house made chips and they were so fresh and crispy. The location is really convenient too the City Market area as well, so it's just a great place to stop in for a respite from shopping in the summer heat. Just awesome!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Magnolias came highly recommended by family and friends when we were planning our trip to Charleston and it's easy to see why. We were greeted with complimentary champagne because we had mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary when we booked out reservation. We both ordered the famous friend chicken and were not disappointed! It was fantastic. Our waiter was polite and very knowledgable about the menu. The atmosphere was lovely as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Magnolias is centrally located to City Market and other shops. I had their signature dish of Seafood and Grits which was excellent! My huband had Beef Stroganoff. The first version of his Stroganoff was not good. The beef tough and the sauce so so. He sent it back and was rewarded with a wonderful dish. They remade it from scratch using a filet. Cusomter service fabulous and their fresh brewed unsweetened tea remarkable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.