We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The FINEST DINING experience I've ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
185 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126 (Downtown)
843-577-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The FINEST DINING experience I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A Valentine Day weekend in Charleston was capped with dinner at Magnolia's. My title says it all. I've eaten in many restaurants in many cities here in the states and abroad. I walked away from this meal fully satisfied. Our waiter was attentive but not intrusive, we were not rushed. There were no children running around. It was altogether a wonderful, adult, experience with my wife.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    621
    197
    58
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Magnolias lost it's flavor? -hopefully it is temporary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have eaten at Magnolias many times and always enjoyed it as well as the service. This time everything was very not up to par. We had reservations at an early part of the evening for a party of four, but escorted to the bar to wait for our table. There was no one at the bar the entire time to serve us or anyone. We gave up and waited by the hostess who sat us at the wrong table.W e then were seated in the rear area of the restaurant and service was still rather spotty. Our entrees were not memorable. All I remember was the poor service. I am afraid I will have to find another favorite in Charleston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classy .. excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The tomato bisque was unprecedented in flavor . Something so simple but absolutely delectable. Entire meal was fabulous . Waiter was excellent efficient , knowledgable and funny

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss Magnolia's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visit Charleston each year in September and the first restaurant we visit is Magnolia's. The food and the service is the best. We made our reservation early (5:45) and we had no problems. I really enjoy the "carpetbagger" (Fillet & fried oysters). The drinks were perfect as was the service. Our waiter anticipated our every need and was on top of his job. All I can say is : Don't miss Magnolia's if you visit Charleston, SC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visiting with reservations on our girls' weekend after choosing this place for its good reviews. Our waiter pushed the flounder raving about it. Two of us chose that meal and were very disappointed. It was a very bland and tasteless fish for $30! One friend ordered the filet which was undercooked. It was cooked more and returned to her.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.