We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolias

Magnolias
185 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126 (Downtown)
843-577-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolias is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, European, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: located between Cumberland & Queen Streets
Transit: Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.
Harrisonburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

One of the few of the really nice restaurants in the area that serves lunch. We were so pleased to find that Magnolias serves lunch, as we went to Charleston with the idea of having a foodie vacation and discovered that few of the finer establishments are even open for lunch. As a result we ended up choosing lunches at each of the establishments that were actually open for lunch as there are only so many days and one dinner for each. We were quite impressed! Best pasta dish I've ever had. They actually balance the toppings with the pasta so you get a bit of everything in every bite. So often these dishes are overwhelmed by huge amounts of pasta and tiny amounts of the chicken or shrimp or vegetables. In this case I got a balance of each from the first bite to the last.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,787
    620
    197
    58
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Southern Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This incredible restaurant is in a great location and is so far, our favorite in Charleston! My husband and I came here for lunch and his trout and my spicy shrimp and grits were awesome! I wish they had a Magnolias in FL!! We will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had a wonderful lunch experience there and so enjoyed the food. Our young waiter was very well informed and spot on. We made a reservation ahead of time and were blessed with a quiet table in the classy back room. The seafood and grits are too die for, I almost licked the bowl!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Charleston Tradition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Magnolias has always been one of those restaurants people go to when visiting Charleston, and our family of 5 adults was no exception. We ate at several of the city's nice restaurants. Magnolias was our least favorite. No real complaints - we just thought it was a little ordinary compared with the others. This was the second trip for most of us, but we will probably not choose it next time. There are too many wonderful restaurants in Charleston to select from.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner at Magnolias. The service was fantastic and the food and dessert was wonderful. Will definitely plan a return visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolias also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.