We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad
192 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2171
+1 843-723-3424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Three years ago we lucked into finding this gem. We had the opportunity to return to Charleston for an overnight stay and were so pleased we could get in. I had shrimp and grits and it was fabulous. Hubby had salmon and he said it was the best salmon he has ever eaten. Our waiter was fabulous...kind, knowledgeable, and never let our iced tea glasses go empty. We ate early and got in without reservations, but they are recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    450
    144
    47
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiger, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SNOB is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our third Charleston trip and same return visit to SNOB. We never make reservations but always sit at the small bar. You can be served dinner at the bar although we usually order off the appetizer menu. The food is absolutely wonderful and the service is over the top.

If you prefer dining at table then reservations are a must. The place is small and crowded. Acoustics are good, but even so it is not the place for a quiet romantic dinner, at least not during peak times. You won't be rushed. Wine list is impressive. We will return again and again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An enjoyable dining experience that is a constant in Charleston and always fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This is one if my son's favorite dining spots because the dishes are always served with the freshest of the local seafood and produce. Dining was pleasant and not rushed. The wine selection was a perfect pairing for our selections. My granddaughter's fruit and cheese appetizer was a wonderful sampling of local and Italian cheeses and in season fruit. The highlight of the meal were our desserts made with fruits from local farms. Truly a lovely evening and we savored our experience with a ride back in the rickshaws!!! Certainly a restaurant to add to your list of tops in Charleston

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food was good but we won't return because their ladies restroom is located right in the middle of a bunch of dining tables so when you're waiting in line for the ladies restroom, you are literally standing next to diners sitting at their table trying to enjoy their food and conversation while ladies are standing right next to their table. it's embarrassing and uncomfortable for everybody. I have never been to a place with an inappropriate bathroom situation as it is at S.N.OB. We only went there once and the food was good but the bathroom location is totally weird and unacceptable so we've never been back, and don't intend to return until they remodel. THERE ARE a lot of good restaurants in Charleston who have good food. Lots of restaurants can make good shrimp, grits, bisquits, fish, etc. Go somewhere else that is nicer inside.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Fantastic food and helpful efficient staff. Very busy so reservations definitely needed. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly North of Broad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.