We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad
192 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2171
+1 843-723-3424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
Eustis, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

If you are thinking about eating there, don't think just go. The food is phenomenal and the staff fantastic. Worth every penny spent and the experience is one to have. The food is over the top great. I would suggest making reservations but if you don't make sure you ask to sit at the chefs table. I loved it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    396
    131
    44
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dined here on a Saturday evening. We had reservations, but still had to wait a little while, which is understandable. There is not a waiting area, so it was tough to wait and have everyone walking in and out. (It was really cold, so we did not want to wait outside). We had cocktails, appetizers, entrees, and desserts and they were all fabulous! What I did not like was the way out waitress treated us like children. (I am in my mid twenties). I'm not sure if she thought we wouldn't order anything, or if she thought we wouldn't tip well, but she was rude because she did not give us the time of day.

It is sad that one waitress can ruin the entire restaurant experience for my friends that were visiting my town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“well appportioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

With its welcoming urban sophisticated ambience SNOB attracts a clientele bent on enjoying an evening out. Food is well prepared and presented and has enough variations to keep SNOB from being predictable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoy • Enjoy • Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hard to find a bad meal in this delightful city but for virtually a guaranteed experience we choose to visit SNOB . . . or in its full name, Slightly North of Broad. Drop by at noon and you will certainly have to wait but if you can be there a little earlier or after the noon-time rush and lunch can be a very pleasant experience. Looking for dinner? Then I doubt you will be disappointed.
Great atmosphere, trained and knowledgeable staff and on-site managers who make sure everything runs like clockwork. On this visit we selected a couple of items we hadn't tried before and it was so good to have a server who could explain both the ingredients and how the dishes were prepared. Good food, well prepared and in an atmosphere that says true southern hospitality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Low Country Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Slightly North of Broad is a great dining experience. My friend had the hangar steak special with roasted potatoes and green beans. I had pan-seared flounder on farro, roasted root vegetables with a fennel vinaigrette and green beans. All were locally acquired and delicious. We also had a cheese plate that included fresh fruit and pecans and pine nuts. Their desserts were tempting, but we couldn't fit it in. The wait staff from the bus boy on up were very friendly and gracious. The decor is very appealing and interesting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly North of Broad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.