We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorful food and a fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad
192 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2171
+1 843-723-3424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
Predazzo, Veneto, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Flavorful food and a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We tried a pear salad recommended by our server, and we were glad we did. It had flavor combinations we'd never tried and it was delicious. Steak came with marinated onions on top. Even my husband loved it, and he hates onions. I enjoyed the salmon very much. Would have loved to try the desserts but we were too full.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,187
    399
    131
    44
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The meals my wife and I ordered, and of course shared were someof the freshest foods we have ever experienced at any restaurant. On one occasion the chef was actualy showing customers a fish brought directly from the dock. FRESH!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Another restaurant with out of the ordinary dishes. Visit this one if you don't want the run of the mill meat and potatoes. All the selections we tried were very good particularly the pear salad with goat cheese

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Get a reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Seated on time with our reservation for lunch. The shrimp & grits were good (although it took a remarkably long time to show up), but not mouthwateringly incredibly good like I sort of expected given this place's reputation. Maybe I'm too picky. Iced tea is like the best I've ever had, though, and the biscuits were fantastic. Prices at lunch were surprisingly reasonable, also. Recommended, although I don't know if this place lives up to the hype.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best dinner of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I chose this restaurant for myself and three girlfriends as we came to Charleston for a 60th birthday and this was the night we were celebrating the birthday and wanted a five star restaurant. SNOB did not disappoint. We were seated directly next to the CHEF's table so had a great view of the show in the kitchen which was a treat to watch. We all started with she crab soup which was divine. Each one of us had a different entrée-lamp chops, fish, crabcakes, and FILET and we all drooled and sampled everyone's. DELICIOUS! It is an upscale restaurant, knowing this price is what you would expect. Definitely recommend this to all!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly North of Broad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.