We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local tastey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad
192 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2171
+1 843-723-3424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Local tastey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice local place for dinning. Casual. Varied and ecclectic menu.
Reasonable prices. Adults and teens type of environment. Not really a "kids" place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    451
    144
    47
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very good food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

2 couples went here on a Saturday night in July and had a great time. The atmosphere is wonderful and the service from the hostess, to the bartender to the wait staff was excellent. Yes, the prices are a bit high, but you get what you pay for and this is a fine restaurant. We started with the chartucherie plate, consisting of several types of patte with bread. It was perfect to share with 4 people. We then had the Shrimp and Grits, Salmon entree and Goat Cheese topped Steak. All of which were excellent! The side of Okra was the only thing we had that was rather flavorless. I highly recommend each of the 3 entrees we had though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

SNOB is high end dining in Charleston and will not disappoint. We treated our teens to a top notch meal while visiting College of Charleston and they and we felt it was one of the best meals we have ever had. The beef tenderloin was enjoyed by 3 of our 4 diners, and all raved about the onion jam and goat cheese combo. Two substituted the mashed potatoes, which were frankly out of this world. I had the mahi and it was superb. SNOB is not cheap, but excellence is worth paying for. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We cannot go to Charleston without eating lunch or dinner at SNOB. Busy place with a great "buzz" atmosphere. Jake was our waiter. Very personable and helpful with our selections. I enjoyed my seafood dish and my husband had the prime rib. My drink was very weak(something with blueberries), my husband's was better(bourbon). We chose not to have another. A nice touch is the dining room manager circulating and asking how our food was, etc. It appears that there is alot of teamwork which is nice to see. My only complaint was our table was located across from the bathroom near the bar. Every time the door opened, I could see the toilet. Yuck, during dinner! We will go back, nice to try the unique dishes offered. Make a dinner reservation ahead of time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love, love, love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My last visit to SNOB was 10 years ago and I have missed it ever since. My return visit did not disappoint! Everything was delicious...cheese plate, steamed clams, duck breast. I recommend them all! I was a happy customer from start to finish and will be looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly North of Broad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.