We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service is everything...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly North of Broad

Slightly North of Broad
192 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2171
+1 843-723-3424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Slightly North of Broad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Faber Street
Description: Slightly North of Broad is a Lowcountry bistro that brings together an abundance of local ingredients and thoughtful, expert presentation with a friendly, contagious energy. Here the dining room is a natural extension of the kitchen, a place where culinary skill, a clever, considered wine program, warm service, and conversations meld together. Our local farmers, fishermen and producers are as integral to the food we make as they are to our place in this community.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“service is everything...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have had this restaurant on my "To go" list for a long long time. I live in Manhattan and consider myself a bit of a foodie, so when I was able to score a seat at the Chef's table, I was so excited. Unfortunately, the view is completely obstructed by a fall festival display, so you don't get to watch the action in the kitchen at all. Kinda defeats the purpose of the table! Anyway, I feel that I can't give an honest review of this restaurant because I think my waiter ruined my entire experience. This guy really put the "SNOB" in SNOB. If you didn't like his up-selling of everything from wine to appetizers to entrees, he almost rolled his eyes and walked away. The big thing here is pushing the BBQ Tuna. I don't like fried oysters, so wanted to go with something else. After that I was basically forgotten. Of note, I did change my order and go with his appetizer recommendation, which, of course, was the Tuna. Skip it. Totally uninspired dish with the same citrus segments and avocado chunks you see on every menu, placed unthoughtfully on the plate. Enjoyed the scallop, which he didn't recommend. Overall a very cold and "Too cool for school" attitude. I'm sure there is some good food at this place, but I don't feel it's worth it if you have to deal with rude, inattentive staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    396
    131
    44
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've heard that everyone in Charleston thinks they do the best shrimp and grits, but the version we had at SNOB was really extraordinary, as were our appetizers. We really wanted to give it 5 stars, and would go back in a heartbeat, but the service was a bit uneven when we were there, and we have to call them like we see them!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, felt rushed by staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I always like their menu and food. However on our last visit the place was very busy and the service staff was not attentive to us.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made special plans and reserved the chefs table with wine pairings. We were really looking forward to his night. Sorry to say we were disappointed. We thought the purpose of the chefs table was to show off the very best of what the kitchen has to offer. There was nothing really wrong with anything we had as far as the meal was concerned we just were not blown away like we expected. A few of the dishes were uninspried and I feel I could have made myself at home. They did a great job with the wine pairings and explaining everything to us. We fully expected to enjoy it so much that we would come back another night during our stay. That did not happen. You may have better luck picking from the menu. That I cannot comment on but I would not do the chefs table again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stranded for 2 extra days in the south due to Hurricane Sandy, we drove to Charleston from our original trip to Savannah.
We were unprepared for the cold snap that came to Charleston, and were wearing layers upon layers of light weight clothing, jeans and sneakers.
We called S.N.O.B. (don't you love that?) to make sure it was 1. open on a Monday and 2. ok for us to come for dinner dressed so informally and were told it was fine. When we arrived, we saw a beautiful restaurant where most of the clientele was dressed for dinner at a fine establishment.
We were made to feel comfortable (more so after well poured cocktails) and enjoyed one of the best meals of our week long trip south.
I recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys fine food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slightly North of Broad also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Slightly North of Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly North of Broad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.