We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Beaconfalls ct
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great service. Clean room excellent staff. The shuttle to downtown charleston was awesome. We got a tour from the driver on our war there. He was right on time picking us up as well. Great experience, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
28
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed her for 3 days, 2 nights....we enjoyed our stay and were very comfortable here. The rooms have enough space and are not cramped. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful regarding things to do and see. My favorite part of this hotel is the shuttle they offer. We parked our vehicle on arrival and used the shuttle to go downtown everytime- made it very easy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The property opened at the end of April 2014. Some of the build issues are still present...

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Parking is very limited!

Walking to the historic district is tricky due to the highway. The area is a bit doggy to the north of the hotel, to the south is the hospital.

Most of the rooms have a good view of the marina and mine had a partial water/bridge view. For a Hilton Garden in this is very upscale and better than many Hilton properties. Bedding, carpet and bathrooms all new. Adequate desk space to work, good WiFi everywhere. Great coffee maker. AC was slightly anemic.

Patio area near the bar is very nice except for the militant bird nest that was a protected species...everyone took that in good humor. The bar was made custom for the hotel and is oyster shells in an epoxy. The light above the buffet area is also custom and made from oyster shells...very nice.

The kitchen makes most food from scratch...and it is up to par with the Charleston area. Not fine dining but more than acceptable and better than most hotel food that depends on salt and fat for flavor.

I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I recently stayed here with my roommate for a weekend get away for Charleston Pride and let me just say I could not have been happier with my choice! What a beautiful brand new hotel in a GREAT location!

1. The hotel was new, and with that comes glitches in systems, processes and team members. This team did a great job to try and minimize any inconveniences, and did quite well in fact. During this weekend a real nasty afternoon storm came through and lightening struck a transformer near by which knocked out power for about 2 hours. Unfortunately this also knocked out all 4 of their elevators. By the end of the day the 2 main ones were back up and running however there were two others that had not been repaired by the time we checked out... Not really a big deal.

2. This was a sold out weekend for them and so naturally parking would be a little bit of an issue. This time a little more than normal for 2 reasons. 1st, during this storm two of their palms got uprooted and were leaning toward two of their parking spaces. As a precaution those spaces were blocked off just incase they fell. 2nd, someone decided to park their f150 over two spaces instead of the one they should have, thankfully the night auditor was wonderful and called the hotel next door to see if I could borrow a space from their lot.

3. The room itself was spacious and well decorated.It was clean, smelled fresh, and aside from the smell of new construction did not smell anything else. In addition the beds were comfortable and loved the towels in the room.

Overall this hotel is a GREAT find and I can't wait till I travel to Charleston again as this will be my choice of hotel. I will recommend this place to my friends, family, and colleagues traveling to this area.

Room Tip: Try to park near one of the elevators. If your room number is lower like 104 it is a hike from the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for the exceptional Trip Advisor review. I am glad that despite the terrible storm you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a weekend at Hilton Garden. The hotel is beautiful. Beds comfy. Had a wonderful view of the marina. The layout is very strange, as other have said in reviews. We had heavy rain and experienced a loss of power, at one point had no water as well. Many guests were unable to get to their destinations because of the flooding all over Charleston. The hotel offered a complimentary buffet. I feel the Hilton tried to make the best of a very unfortunate situation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Ok if a hotel is going to charge hilton rates, they should at least be hilton quality. This need a complete makeover. First of all a high floor is considered the fourth floor. Come on folks. Next the elevator did not work. You think some one would have put a sign at each elevator! The rom smells. I could go on. But this Hilton Garden Inn need to be sold or completely refreshed.

It is on the waterfront and you must have car. It is not convenient to anything,

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We apologize for the unpleasant stay. As our guest we want you to feel comfortable and relaxed. The storm knocked the power and the elevators out. We should have been more prompt at getting signage in place. We will continue to work with our staff to address the issues you encountered to improve our services. We hope we can invite you back for a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The price was right but the hotel needs a "remake" relative to rooms , lobby and breakfast dining area. The parking was insufficient and not laid out for safety. No matter where you parked, you could only enter the hotel thru the front entrance ( there were no doors available in back or on the side to use your room key for entry). The personnel was very friendly and efficient and the location was good.

Room Tip: Air conditioning so loud, you can't hear TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown

Address: 45 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.