We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I recently stayed here with my roommate for a weekend get away for Charleston Pride and let me just say I could not have been happier with my choice! What a beautiful brand new hotel in a GREAT location!

1. The hotel was new, and with that comes glitches in systems, processes and team members. This team did a great job to try and minimize any inconveniences, and did quite well in fact. During this weekend a real nasty afternoon storm came through and lightening struck a transformer near by which knocked out power for about 2 hours. Unfortunately this also knocked out all 4 of their elevators. By the end of the day the 2 main ones were back up and running however there were two others that had not been repaired by the time we checked out... Not really a big deal.

2. This was a sold out weekend for them and so naturally parking would be a little bit of an issue. This time a little more than normal for 2 reasons. 1st, during this storm two of their palms got uprooted and were leaning toward two of their parking spaces. As a precaution those spaces were blocked off just incase they fell. 2nd, someone decided to park their f150 over two spaces instead of the one they should have, thankfully the night auditor was wonderful and called the hotel next door to see if I could borrow a space from their lot.

3. The room itself was spacious and well decorated.It was clean, smelled fresh, and aside from the smell of new construction did not smell anything else. In addition the beds were comfortable and loved the towels in the room.

Overall this hotel is a GREAT find and I can't wait till I travel to Charleston again as this will be my choice of hotel. I will recommend this place to my friends, family, and colleagues traveling to this area.

Room Tip: Try to park near one of the elevators. If your room number is lower like 104 it is a hike from the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for the exceptional Trip Advisor review. I am glad that despite the terrible storm you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    71
    29
    12
    6
See reviews for
72
93
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a weekend at Hilton Garden. The hotel is beautiful. Beds comfy. Had a wonderful view of the marina. The layout is very strange, as other have said in reviews. We had heavy rain and experienced a loss of power, at one point had no water as well. Many guests were unable to get to their destinations because of the flooding all over Charleston. The hotel offered a complimentary buffet. I feel the Hilton tried to make the best of a very unfortunate situation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Ok if a hotel is going to charge hilton rates, they should at least be hilton quality. This need a complete makeover. First of all a high floor is considered the fourth floor. Come on folks. Next the elevator did not work. You think some one would have put a sign at each elevator! The rom smells. I could go on. But this Hilton Garden Inn need to be sold or completely refreshed.

It is on the waterfront and you must have car. It is not convenient to anything,

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We apologize for the unpleasant stay. As our guest we want you to feel comfortable and relaxed. The storm knocked the power and the elevators out. We should have been more prompt at getting signage in place. We will continue to work with our staff to address the issues you encountered to improve our services. We hope we can invite you back for a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The price was right but the hotel needs a "remake" relative to rooms , lobby and breakfast dining area. The parking was insufficient and not laid out for safety. No matter where you parked, you could only enter the hotel thru the front entrance ( there were no doors available in back or on the side to use your room key for entry). The personnel was very friendly and efficient and the location was good.

Room Tip: Air conditioning so loud, you can't hear TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn in Charleston SC on the waterfront is fabulous. The view from the rooms is the beautiful harbor. The beds are very comfortable. The layout of the hotel is great with parking underneath. Location of the hotel is convenient to everything. Staff is very helpful and the entire facility very clean. My favorite amenities offered are the pool area that overlooked the harbor, the free shuttle service (Mercedes) that took you downtown and free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring,MD, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff was friendly and professional. The room was clean and it did not smell. The shuttle bus operators were professional and punctual. I used the shuttle bus to go to the historic section of Charleston everyday. The hotel was only a 10 minute ride to the historic district.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, IL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were not impressed with this Hilton Garden Inn at all. Despite being new, it was very disappointing. The room was not properly cleaned and vacuumed as we found food crumbs from a previous guest on the carpeting and tables in our room. Check in was slow and was interrupted by other guests who returned to the reservation desk because they were improperly registered. The hotel has a business vibe and if requested, the views of the marina from your room are wonderful. Definitely would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the marina for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed our lovely marina views. We apologize for the unpleasant guest room conditions and front office delays. As our guests we want you to feel comfortable and relaxed. We are working with our staff to address the housekeeping issues you encountered and will continue to improve our services. We hope we can invite you back for a more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,063 reviews
King Charles Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown

Address: 45 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the picturesque Ashley Marina, by the banks of the Ashley River, the stylish Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown hotel is in the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Enjoy easy access to Charleston's Historic District, The Medical University of South Carolina, The Citadel, College of Charleston, South Carolina Aquarium, as well as Historic Plantations, shops, restaurants, and beaches. A complimentary shuttle service runs to and from the hotel to Charleston's Historic District, just 1.5 Miles away. Each comfortable guest room and suite features a Serta Suite Dreams(R) bed, and modern amenities including complimentary WiFi, an ergonomic desk, a 42-inch LCD TV, Keurig(R) coffee and tea maker, mini refrigerator and microwave. Start each day with a cooked-to-order breakfast in the Garden Grille & Bar, and grab a snack at any time from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Work out in the complimentary 24 -hour fitness center and swim in the outdoor seasonal pool overlooking the water. Hold an event at this Charleston, SC hotel with three meeting spaces, on-site catering and a complimentary 24-hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.