We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a weekend at Hilton Garden. The hotel is beautiful. Beds comfy. Had a wonderful view of the marina. The layout is very strange, as other have said in reviews. We had heavy rain and experienced a loss of power, at one point had no water as well. Many guests were unable to get to their destinations because of the flooding all over Charleston. The hotel offered a complimentary buffet. I feel the Hilton tried to make the best of a very unfortunate situation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    33
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
46
1
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Ok if a hotel is going to charge hilton rates, they should at least be hilton quality. This need a complete makeover. First of all a high floor is considered the fourth floor. Come on folks. Next the elevator did not work. You think some one would have put a sign at each elevator! The rom smells. I could go on. But this Hilton Garden Inn need to be sold or completely refreshed.

It is on the waterfront and you must have car. It is not convenient to anything,

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We apologize for the unpleasant stay. As our guest we want you to feel comfortable and relaxed. The storm knocked the power and the elevators out. We should have been more prompt at getting signage in place. We will continue to work with our staff to address the issues you encountered to improve our services. We hope we can invite you back for a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The price was right but the hotel needs a "remake" relative to rooms , lobby and breakfast dining area. The parking was insufficient and not laid out for safety. No matter where you parked, you could only enter the hotel thru the front entrance ( there were no doors available in back or on the side to use your room key for entry). The personnel was very friendly and efficient and the location was good.

Room Tip: Air conditioning so loud, you can't hear TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn in Charleston SC on the waterfront is fabulous. The view from the rooms is the beautiful harbor. The beds are very comfortable. The layout of the hotel is great with parking underneath. Location of the hotel is convenient to everything. Staff is very helpful and the entire facility very clean. My favorite amenities offered are the pool area that overlooked the harbor, the free shuttle service (Mercedes) that took you downtown and free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring,MD, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff was friendly and professional. The room was clean and it did not smell. The shuttle bus operators were professional and punctual. I used the shuttle bus to go to the historic section of Charleston everyday. The hotel was only a 10 minute ride to the historic district.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were not impressed with this Hilton Garden Inn at all. Despite being new, it was very disappointing. The room was not properly cleaned and vacuumed as we found food crumbs from a previous guest on the carpeting and tables in our room. Check in was slow and was interrupted by other guests who returned to the reservation desk because they were improperly registered. The hotel has a business vibe and if requested, the views of the marina from your room are wonderful. Definitely would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the marina for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed our lovely marina views. We apologize for the unpleasant guest room conditions and front office delays. As our guests we want you to feel comfortable and relaxed. We are working with our staff to address the housekeeping issues you encountered and will continue to improve our services. We hope we can invite you back for a more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I loved the resort enjoyed having a room with balcony that overlooked the harbor. Only about 2 miles from downtown Charleston. I do sort of wish we would have stayed downtown within walking distance of everything because parking was $10.00 to $20.00 bucks to park, that adds up quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown

Address: 45 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.