We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ and AMAZING Bloody Mary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicks barbeque charleston

Nicks barbeque charleston
288 King St, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 577-0406
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Tuckahoe, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and AMAZING Bloody Mary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My brother in-law and I went to this place for lunch one day on a bachelor party to grab a late breakfast/early lunch. We are both fans of Bloody Mary's and love BBQ. Nick's reminded us of a restaurant we have been to in NYC called Hill Country and we were fans. The food was exceptional and the Bloody Mary's were made nice and spicy (and loved the fact they gave an entire stalk of celery as the garnish). We had the burgers and they came out delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

While shopping on King Street, we asked for a recommendation for lunch and were directed to Nick's. The BBQ was great! Really good salads, and pie (lemon icebox), but the highlight was definitely the cheesy cornbread! The best ever AND they sell cute bags of the cornbread mix.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
1 review
“Great location but below average ribs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We were in Charleston again with friends and felt like ribs....Soooo we decided to try NIcks Barbeque because of the reviews on trip advisor. Bad move! Several of us ordered the 4 rib dinner and several had combo dinner. The four rib platter presented nicely but first they forgot my rolls. The ribs looked great but one bite into them they were the toughest ribs I ever had and the others in the group all agreed and personally they lost me with the watered down rib sauce- not even thick enough to stick to the ribs! Bad move on their part. My sweet potato casserole was ok. On a positive note the fried green tomatoes were very good! My husband again decided to be different and ordered the pork sandwich which he says was "just ok" and he never says too much. With all the other food choices in Charleston they need to step up their game. We won't be back:(

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I'm not a big bbq girl, but when I have it it better be good and this fit the bill. My husband is a huge critic and loved it. I got a platter of 3 meats and they were all great. My husbands sandwiches were delicious too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good pulled pork and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

One person had pulled pork and one had salad and both were good. The sweet potato side was good too. Kids menu is ok. Beer and wine available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicks barbeque charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nicks barbeque charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicks barbeque charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.