We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I got lured to Martha Lou's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Lou's Kitchen

Martha Lou's Kitchen
1068 Morrison Dr, Charleston, SC 29403-3820
843-577-9583
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“I got lured to Martha Lou's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was watching TV and that Zimmerman guy was on doing a special on Charleston and he was in Martha Lou's with a local chef. Martha Lou sat next to me today and explained how it all went down for the episode. Very nice, friendly people. The fried chicken was delicious as were all my sides; collards, limas, and mac and cheese, and the tea is oh so sweet. $11, can't beat that. I'm still full. Look forward to going back. They gave me a chitterlings sample; not bad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    27
    15
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you want real southern soul food in a small pink shack with murals inside and out, this is it. I smiled the whole time I was there with my family. This place is a real institution! Place only seats maybe 2 dozen people. Staff is energetic and very friendly. Fried chicken was to die for. Collards, black eyed peas, corn bread all great. Need a car to get there from downtown Charleston but well worth the short 10 minute drive. Don't miss it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Martha Lou Is The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We've wanted to eat here for years, and finally did today. What a treat! Martha Lou's granddaughter was waiting tables and doing a fine job. We got our iced tea promptly. Martha Lou was a little backed up in the kitchen so we were brought lima beans (which we didn't order) in case we were starving. The lima beans were smokey and delicious. Soon we got our fried chicken, cabbage, and cornbread. The fried chicken was perfect. The cabbage was a slightly spicy tasty delight, and we got the last two pieces of cornbread which was light and delicious. The lima beans and cabbage were cooked with salt pork or salt cured bacon which made them a little salty, but the great flavor still came through. Our bill came to $22 including food and tea. Martha Lou came out of the kitchen when things slowed down. What a sweet lady. We thought the place was clean with a little wear around the edges. Murals on the wall were charming and the radio was playing everything from Michele Obama speeches to rockin' soul. We love this place and will return anytime we're even near Charleston.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, pa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This little pink shack is a great place for real Southern cuisine. It is a traditional meat and 3. I would definitely get the fried chicken. Even the chicken breast was moist and juicy. It had a great crispy and flavorful coating. The cornbread was great. I found the collards to be way to salty. My family loved the bread pudding, but I found it too sweet. Great friendly service too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Love the local flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were driving by as we had many times and finally took the plunge. Martha Lou's is a colorful building but the surroundings do give you pause. Go ahead. Take the plunge.

We had fried chicken that was very good, not even breaded until you order it, so it is very fresh. The okra soup was good, although different then what I have had in the past. A savory tomato sauce base, almost like spaghetti sauce, with okra. I loved it.

The collards were good and the mac n cheese tasty but a bit overcooked. Water comes in bottles, not from the tap.

Service is spotty. When we arrived the place was half full but no one told us to wait, sit, or whatever. Martha Lou was busy in the kitchen and the lady who was waiting tables seemed confused, to say the least. I finally asked if we should sit and she nodded yes. Then we waited. It was not until another party sat down and grabbed menus that I had any inkling as to procedure. I also grabbed a menu but the waitress snatched it up and handed us a hand written menu of the day's offerings. She waited on the other table first, then when I got up to leave she remembered us and took our order. Don't come here expecting orderly or fast service. The restroom is located outside--ask for the key...If you like to experience local flavor you should try this place.

I do plan on returning at some point to try the fish, which looked divine as it passed by our table...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Lou's Kitchen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Martha Lou's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Lou's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.