We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McCrady's Restaurant

McCrady's Restaurant
2 Unity Alley, Charleston, SC 29401-3009 (Downtown)
843-577-0025
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCrady's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: East Bay & Broad
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wedding Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My daughter got married upstairs here on October 5, 2013. We held her reception here for over 120 people. I was disappointed in the food TREMENDOUSLY!!!!!!!!!! Given the reputation of McCrady's, I felt many things were lacking during the evening. The management was not responsive and that in itself is a MAJOR problem when you are spending so much money. Aside from the quality of the food, the serving staff was not friendly, seemed overwhelmed and made it almost impossible to get a full plate of food.
Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend that you spell out every detail if you wish to hold a wedding at this location. Don't be fooled by "estimates" as they are WAY OFF in theirs!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    96
    70
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well deserving of its reputation as one of Charleston's Best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

McCradys did not disappoint albeit high expectations. Easily ranks up there with FIG and I would say it's better than Husk.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
1 review
“Amazing wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had my brother's wedding reception here and it was breathtaking! From the passed Hors D'Oeuvre's of mini crab cakes to the amazing entrees, this was an experience like no other. Coming from a fine dining restaurant in the DC area, I was highly impressed and would recommend this place to someone for dinner to dessert to a special event. just go

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head island SC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Classic Southern Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to the city we finally had an opening on a Sunday night at this locals' favorite. This out go the mainstream restaurant row, down a narrow cobblestone path takes you back to old Charleston. The facility is modest in size but very affable and quiet. My wife and I chose the four course option going for the snapper and grouper on the regular menu. All four courses from the green salad to the cheese plate were delicious and service was excellent. The wine list is extensive but expensive. If you plan to visit Charleston book ahead of time or you won't get in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We opted for the 4 courses - each course was cooked and presented to perfection. My highlight was the trout fish course. Service was impeccable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCrady's Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to McCrady's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCrady's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.