We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blossom

Blossom
171 East Bay St., Charleston, SC 29401-2126 (Downtown)
843-722-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blossom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Upon arrival, the hostess was very kind and was prepared for us (We had made a 745 reservation at 7:15, via open table). My husband and I both had the she-crab soup, which was quite tasty...not too heavy. I had the skillet seared scallops, which was quite filling, while my husband had the fried shrimp. The meal was completed with an on-site raspberry sorbet and a to-go package with a light lemon meringue tart.
The presentation of the dishes was good.
More than that, the service was excellent. Our server, Glennie was personable, attentive and efficient. She had a careful eye for detail (we never had an empty water glass!)
Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling or living in Charleston.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    258
    85
    33
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Original dishes with fantastic flavor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'm a local and Blossom is my favorite restaurant by far. The food is phenomenal, and the atmosphere is very nice without being stuffy as is the case with some other favorite Charleston places.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and Inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best fried chicken ever! From entrées to sides everything was prepared well and delivered promptly. I would suggest Blossom to anyone visiting Charleston!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have gone to Blossoms often on our trips to Charleston. The food is consistently excellent and so is the service. It can be a bit noisy if you have a center table. Ask for a booth., they are spacious and much more quiet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lunch at Blossom was good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had lunch at Blossom while waiting for members of my family to join me in Charleston. I ordered the Lump Crab & Fried Green Tomato BLT sandwich. It was good but I would not order it again. It was a under-seasoned but had great texture. The service was great and that was a redeeming quality of the restaurant . Since I dined alone I would give Blossom another chance.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blossom also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blossom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blossom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.