We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Bar and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blossom

Blossom
171 East Bay St., Charleston, SC 29401-2126 (Downtown)
843-722-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blossom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun Bar and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Black Grouper and roast duck was what we had and it was excellent. It's a noisy fun bar in the front of the place and pleasant dining in the back. Crowded but these people know how to run a restaurant and get you to your table in a reasonable time. Don't miss it and be sure to get a reservation well in advance like most of the Charleston restaurants

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    283
    101
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Booming Blossom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Blossom was booming on the Friday of Restaraunt Week when we went to dinner. Wonderfully seasoned bread/butter on the tables and the service was impeccable. I'm a purist when it comes to Shrimp & Grits, the less complicated, the better. So I was anxious to try the dish at Blossom. The dish was cooked with creamy grits, medium shrimp, cooked onions, tomatoes, and a rich broth. The broth made the dish excellent and the bread provided with the meal made a perfect side dish when used to sop up the broth towards the end of the meal. Wonderful atmosphere and value, especially for small plates. I'm interested in trying out the lunch menu sometime too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The appetizer and bread were very good. My wife did not like the butter, but I did. Our entrees were bland and flavorless. I asked for my dish to be prepared with something to add spiciness to the meal, and to my disappointment, the dish the not exit the mild zone. Other than that, my meal was very good. My wife was not a fan of her meal, but she tried something new, so the food is not to blame for her not liking the meal.

Our server was very friendly and helpful. She actually conversed a bit with us instead of just taking the order and leaving.

The restaurant itself was wonderful (layout, noise level, atmosphere, etc.). The overall experience was a positive one.

We will go back go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Simply adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Looking for a good seafood lunch in Charleston, we were disappointed that several of the highest rated restaurants are only open for dinner. After finding Cru Cafe closed (renovations?), we settled on Blossom. The menu looked good, but perhaps we chose the wrong things. I tried the She Crab Soup which was rather bland. My companion's Butternut Squash soup was tastier, if a bit over-sweet. My Oyster Sliders had too little oyster and too much bread. My companion's lettuce-wrapped shrimp was also light on the key ingredient (that would be .... shrimp!). We were halfway through our soup before we could get our server's attention and request she bring us our beverages which she admitted to having forgotten. The food wasn't bad, and the presentation was attractive, but all in all a rather disappointing lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL, QUEBEC, CANADA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Half good half bad....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

we sat down because it was beautiful outside & there wre available sits.
Waitress started off attentive,bring us drinks ,menu& then the wait- My husband got his meal & loved it- i waited for my salad & then waited for 15 minutes for the dressing- waitress dissappeared- lousy ending to a greta beginning

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blossom also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blossom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blossom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.