We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blossom

Blossom
171 East Bay St., Charleston, SC 29401-2126 (Downtown)
843-722-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blossom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arriving in Charleston, we had our first meal at Blossom. We had the best service by Amy. She had the prefect level of personality. The meal was very nice. We had a few apps, a salad, some wine, and took our time enjoying the evening. Our entrees were roasted duck and the braised short ribs, both cooked to perfection with outstanding flavor.
I have to say that the service was excellent all around. I noticed that the servers all seemed to work well as a team, helping each other with linens and busing. Everyone appeared very professional. This is definitely a go-back-to restaurant on our next trip to SC. Thank you Amy for a wonderful evening.
We spent a bit more than we had planned, but thought it was well worth the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    283
    101
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch at Blossom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I ordered the Huevos Rancheros for my brunch and loved the comfried eggs, refried sea peas, pulled short ribs, green chili sauce, salsa and sour cream on a tortilla. You definitely have to want SW cuisine to enjoy this meal. For me it was fantastic. My wife had shrimp. They were fresh and she can always tell. My sister had a heavenly grit concoction. It was creamy, cheesy and rich as possible. I loved tasting it, and I'm not even a grit fan.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Charleston is full of amazing restaurants, but Blossom really impressed. The atmosphere is upscale, but not stuffy, and the staff is attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The service was efficient, but not rushed. I had the fried green tomato appetizer and the short ribs entree, and it was amazing. What really made the experience was the spot on wine pairing recommendations from Luis. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our waitress was very friendly and helpful. Three of us had dinner and each got a different dish. Food was very plentiful and prepared perfectly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Complete delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting this restaurant last week for lunch. We were able to sit in their beautiful courtyard and enjoy the sun. I immediately fell in love with their delectable mussels, so much so that I had two orders. The fried artichoke hearts were equally delicious. My friend had the shellfish cocktail which was so full of fresh seafood it was indeed a meal. Our waitress Amy was fantastic! Talking to her and learning of the area, kept us at out table well into the afternoon. I am disappointed we did not find time to revisit this gem! When next in Charleston, I will visit Blossom, enjoy my mussels, and of course insist on Amy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blossom also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blossom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blossom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.