We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton Place Restaurant

Middleton Place Restaurant
4300 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
+1 843-266-7477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Middleton Place Restaurant strives to integrate the freshest local ingredients in a blended style of traditional Southern cuisine with a contemporary edge. A lead supporter of South Carolina farmers, about fifty percent of the Restaurant’s dinner menu is either from the plantation garden or locally sourced seafood and poultry. Nestled among centuries old live oak trees, Middleton Place Restaurant offers an unrivaled combination of historic and present day delights.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“At Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Food excellent
Got the tip from another reviewer
Hen and Farmer's Salad my favorites
Multigrain bread warmed to perfection with soft butter
Cornbread melts in your mouth
Always to full for dessert
Great service
Kudos to Greg Fisher and team

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. The restaurant staff prides itself on offering delicious, expertly-crafted food and impeccable service. Come back and have one of the house-made desserts sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    91
    33
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sikeston, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped in Middleton Place Restaurant in the mid-afternoon for a quick appetizer since it decided to pour rain during our tour of the grounds. We had reservations for dinner later that evening but decided to give it a quick check anyway. Both experiences were great. The staff was very attentive, and the food was wonderful. Watching the rain fall outside on the beautiful landscape reminded you that you were not in town. It felt like we were a hundred miles from anywhere. Relaxing, comfortable, great food and fantastic service. Can't get any better than that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Total package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Service & ambience were wonderful. They even stayed open late for us when we walked over from the Inn not realizing they were closed. Food was well prepared w/ very fresh ingredients & creative flavor combinations. Lamb was to die for.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
The Middleton Place Restaurant offers a wonderful and complete dining experience at lunch and dinner, and the staff goes out of its way to accommodate all guests. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD! One of the best in Charleson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We would have never known about this restaurant if we hadn't stayed in the inn. Thank goodness we ate here! GREAT GREAT SERVICE!! Wonderful food! Pricey! But, worth it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“View of the gardens and wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Window table looking out on the lush gardens. Food was pricey but delicious! We found an outdoor seating area after we had eaten. We would have enjoyed that even more!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Place Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.