We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear E Patch Cafe West

Bear E Patch Cafe West
1980 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29407-4780
843-766-6490
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Ridgeville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a good meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nothing fancy, but plenty of good food. Breakfast all day long is hard to resist, but then some of the other menu items are tempting too. And the desserts are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great choice in west Ashley for any meal. Omelets are awesome and service is always great. Only negative I can find is that they can be extremely busy, but that is a sign of how good their food is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“*Comfort Food Cabana*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful staff in a wholesome country diner with a good mix of traditional and trendy fare. No frills, except for the taste buds...and nothing like seeing good words of wisdom on the walls!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Incredible Breakfast and Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This place is the real deal - the genuine southern hospitality and food that you are looking for in Charleston. Extremely friendly service and great, distinctive southern diner-style food. They have a great regular menu, but also feature a number of very interesting specials. I had a cornbread-jalapeno egg sandwich and my wife had grouper and cheese grits. Both were incredible. Worth the 15 minute trip from downtown Charleston and right on the way to the plantations, if you are headed there.

We will definitely return for breakfast and probably try it for lunch sometime as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana,Ky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best breakfast for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed several days in Charleston and had breakfast every day. Some places were okay but all were way overpriced. On our way out of town on the way to visit Magnolia Plantation (absolutely beautiful grounds especially the spring azalea bloom), we ran across The Bear E Patch. Not expecting much, we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and presented with a menu that actually made you want to make a choice instead of settling for "ho hum". Every one in our party ordered different items and all were extremely please with their choice and I was very pleased with the check. My only regret is that I can't easily return to sample more of their offering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear E Patch Cafe West also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bear E Patch Cafe West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear E Patch Cafe West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.