We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never visit Charleston without having breakfast here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear E Patch Cafe West

Bear E Patch Cafe West
1980 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29407-4780
843-766-6490
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We never visit Charleston without having breakfast here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food, great prices. And the owners/staff are wonderful. Their breakfasts Are the best! Great lunches too. It's worth finding!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still Full”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great food and great portions. Can get really busy but the food is worth it. Had the Lowcountry omelet with grits. Omelet was huge and the meat was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in Charleston -- and that includes Jestine's and Nick's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a surprise! I had done all sorts of research for my first visit to Charleston and yet the Bear E Patch was not on my list. Instead, my host insisted we go there for lunch. Little did I know that my first meal of my visit would be my favorite.

I had the Southern Reuben sandwich, fried green tomatoes, and sweet tea. The sandwich was fantastic. The corned beef was not fatty and spiced just enough. The cole slaw (what made it "Southern") was slightly sweet and very crunchy -- it was a great complement to the corned beef. The bread was awesome, too. The menu said it was homemade. It tasted like it. Mmm!

The fried green tomatoes were the best I have ever had. The batter was slightly seasoned and I think the tomatoes were coated with a thin spread of grits before they were battered and fried. I think this because I got to try my husband's grits and they were FANTASTIC and the flavor and texture seemed to be sneakily in my tomatoes, too.

I don't give 5 dots easily. The Bear E Patch is not fancy, but it is homemade stuff and family run and a total surprise. It's a good thing I live on the other side of the country. Otherwise, I would be there every day and would weigh 500lbs!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenel, South Carolina
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Consistant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We eat here every chance we get when we are in town. The food is always "spot on" and the service is excellent. They have a great stable of soups also, and they are always worth a try. The thing that is so great about this place is not only is the food consistant, but the service is superb. All of the staff look out for the patrons, not just "their" tables. We have never had a bad meal and make it our "regular" eating place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Solid breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Country ham, eggs, real potatoes and homemade biscuits comprise a good breakfast for me. Their many specials each day include all kinds of pancakes and omelettes. The only thing I believe needs improvement is the coffee. For a place that serves breakfast all day the coffee should be outstanding but instead it is slightly acidic and bitter and not rich and aromatic. Service is always fast and friendly. Location is good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear E Patch Cafe West also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bear E Patch Cafe West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear E Patch Cafe West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.