We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Variety Store & Restaurant

Marina Variety Store & Restaurant
17 Lockwood Dr, Ste E, Charleston, SC 29401-1160
843-723-6325
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nothing fancy, but a great place to have breakfast or lunch. I had lunch here on a Saturday afternoon, and the place wasn't very busy, so no wait. Great shrimp tacos! The view of the marina is also nice to have while you enjoy your food or to stroll around and check out the many nice boats docked there. I definitely would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    22
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“nice place for breakfast or lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have eaten here twice. One time we had breakfast and the other time we had lunch. It was good both times and I would give it a 3 1/2 if that were an option. The view is very nice and it is good on the budget. Service is slow but friendly. I had a shrimp po boy and the shrimp were good. The french fries were Ore Ida crinkle fries. My husband had the crab omelet and liked it very much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Resturaunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The place was always busy but we never had to wait to be seated. It is old 20+ years but has a charm you will enjoy. The menu was pretty extensive but mostly fried and delicious. We had a dinner and also a breakfast here and both were awesome and reasonably priced!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury nc
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A little odd...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hearing I could get a good cheeseburger here, I rolled in about 8PM on a Monday to an almost empty restaurant. I looked at the top of the hostess head for about 2 minutes and she never looked up. I went into the bar and was greeted by a very friendly and earnest bartender who I do not think knew anything about the menu. I ordered my cheesburger, waited about 15 minutes, and received a respectable, but certainly not memorable sandwich. While I waited for my food I notice the bartender pouring a glass of wine for another guest and I asked if I could take a look at the bottle since I was not familiar with the brand. Not only did he show me the bottle, he poured me about 8 oz. of the wine and said " on the house". I appreciated the gesture, but "a little odd"

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Greek salad, great service, nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I have ate at the Marina Variety Store & Restaurant before, and she's come to love the Greek salad, so since we were downtown anyway, we decided to stop by.
Pros: Very attentive and helpful waitress. For instance, wife asked for pita bread for the salad, and it magically appeared. Waitress stopped by to check on how we were doing and was polite and unobtrusive. She took our bill and parking stub and got that taken care of.
Great Greek salad.
Super-size bleu cheese burger.
Free parking.
Cons: unappetizing very creamy cole slaw.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Variety Store & Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Marina Variety Store & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Variety Store & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.