We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great soups!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Loaves Cafe

Five Loaves Cafe
43 Cannon St, also Mt Pleasant location, Charleston, SC 29403-6068
+1 843-937-4303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Eclectic cuisine focusing on locally sourced foods, vegetarian friendly and gluten free menu. Healthy menu with anti-biotic free meats and 13 years of success.
detroit
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great soups!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I each ordered the soup sampler for part of our lunch at Five Loaves Cafe. Out of the 7 soups offered we sampled 6. They were fantastic. The sandwiches were good as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    114
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat with cramped spaces.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Went one weekday night for a quick dinner with a friend, thinking it couldn't be very busy. Unfortunately, once we got there we found it would be a wait. That's not a problem, except there is no room inside to wait, and no place outside to sit. The wait wasn't unbearable, but be prepared to wait outside (AKA dress appropriately for the weather) just in case of a crowd. Ordered half tortellini, half caesar salad. The salad was decent, at best. Nothing great. The tortellini was quite good! We also ordered dessert! Good place for a cheap, light dinner, but don't go here expecting a world class meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good for a mid-afternoon meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stopped in with the need to nourish but not stuff ourselves. Five Loaves fit the bill (though excess consumption was certainly possible). I had a soup and sandwich, my wife a salad, and we left quite satisfied. The menu is varied and imaginative, and fulfills the emphasis on locally sourced ingredients. Wish I'd had room to try one of the desserts the friendly server offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best bang for the $ in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Our daughter recommended this place to bring her and a bunch of friends for dinner. I was skeptical at first but thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. If this restaurant was in another location it would rank in the top 10 of Charleston. Everyone LOVED their dinner and we will definitely be back. Something for everyone including gluten-free dining

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a comfortable restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were staying at a less-than-optimal hotel in Charleston, but it was close to some good restaurants including Five Loaves.

We had eaten a large lunch the other day so we were looking for a good, but not terribly heavy dinner. We went to Five Loaves for soup and half-sandwiches. It was all great. We started by munching on the homemade focaccia and ordered a bottle of reasonably priced malbec. They also have a very nice looking beer list.

I ordered the potato soup and half a turkey pastrami Reuben. My wife had a nice vegetable soup and half of a grilled pork loin sandwich. Everything was delicious and filling. At the end, we ordered a chocolate chip cookie for dessert, but couldn't find the room for it. So we took the cookie and the remainder of the wine home with us to enjoy later in the evening.

The service was attentive and efficient, and one nice touch we appreciated was the bottle of water on the table.

The restaurant is a very pleasant space and sits on a corner so that it is easy to locate. Because the space is tight there really is no good place to stand if you need to wait for a table; thankfully we only had to wait a few minutes.

Two things to keep in mind if you dine here, there is frequently a wait and parking is VERY difficult to find. So, if you go with two or more people, make sure to drop someone off to wait on line for a table as you cruise the neighborhood looking for a place to park. Once you park and are seated, you will see that it was worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Loaves Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Five Loaves Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Loaves Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.