We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Wednesdays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Loaves Cafe

Five Loaves Cafe
43 Cannon St, also Mt Pleasant location, Charleston, SC 29403-6068
+1 843-937-4303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Eclectic cuisine focusing on locally sourced foods, vegetarian friendly and gluten free menu. Healthy menu with anti-biotic free meats and 13 years of success.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wine Wednesdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our first night in Charleston, we headed to Five Loaves downtown early to beat the crowd. Lucky us! Wednesday nights is half off bottles of wine! We still had to wait for a table (this is like 6pm!!), but comforted ourselves with a glass of Pinot Gris and an IPA. Once seated, we ordered the mussels and a salad to kick things off. My sweetheart slurped down the excellent mussels and sopped up the juices. We then ordered the night's special trout and Five Loave's signature dish, shrimp & gnocchi. Sweetie raved about the trout, but I found the shrimp in my dish over-cooked and tough, although the flavors were good....just a little disappointing.

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience, nice ambiance, good service, tasty food at reasonable prices. We will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    114
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I found this place while walking in the downtown area.It was lunch and we had sandwiches. You can choose the bread you want. She had the blackbean burger on sourdough. I had the turkey on sourdough and requested it grilled which turned out great. The service was good and the price was right. Overall a good experience and I would not hesitate to eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesea, South Africa
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“WHY ALL THE PEOPLE?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you are prepared to wait then head for Five Loaves! During our visit to the Charleston area from South Africa we ate at Five Loaves (downtown) three times! EVERY time we had to wait outside for a table. The last time we waited nearly 30 minutes. Why all the people? Maybe the location; maybe the vib; maybe the great selection of soups and sandwiches; maybe the quality of the meals? I really don't know why all the people and I hate to wait on tables!!! But when it comes to Five Loaves put my name on the waiting list...I'm in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great lunch at five loaves. Tasty and very reasonable. We were staying near Frances Marion Square and this gave us a chance to walk to a different area of Charleston but anyone staying further away could get there easily with the free trolley. The food and service were excellent. Feels like a neighbourhood restaurant. Superb restaurants in charleston and this felt like a break for our wallets without sacrificing quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing any of us had was the potato and broccoli soup. The pork tenderloin was dry. Nothing had flavor. It was not worth the money they charge.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphyeve, Owner at Five Loaves Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Ouch! This hurts to hear you had such a bad experience. I appreciate your honesty, and hope you consider giving us another chance. Which location did you dine at?
Caswack@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Loaves Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Five Loaves Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Loaves Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.