We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Loaves Cafe

Five Loaves Cafe
43 Cannon St, also Mt Pleasant location, Charleston, SC 29403-6068
+1 843-937-4303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Eclectic cuisine focusing on locally sourced foods, vegetarian friendly and gluten free menu. Healthy menu with anti-biotic free meats and 13 years of success.
Baldwin, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Attended a wine dinner there in early November and had a blast!! The food was sooo delicious and perfectly paired with the wines...I would eat there everyday if i didn't live in Wisconsin!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    114
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE Lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor. I was not disappointed! Parking was tricky, but they do have a small lot across the street. They had a lot of specials to choose from in addition to the regular menu. I had the Mexican Chicken soup and a half spinach salad with garlic balsamic dressing. It was delicious and I wish I had a big enough stomach to have another bowl of the soup! The bread was really fresh and was the perfect compliment to dip in my soup broth. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perhaps resting on their laurels?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived around 7pm and were surprised there was a wait on a Monday evening. However, because of the many positive reviews, we assumed this was par for the course. We were seated after about 15 minutes, so the wait was not too long. Be forewarned, however, that there is no place to wait inside the restaurant. There is a bench outside. The weather was pleasant, so this was not a problem, but in inclement weather, it would be.

The first issue was that service out of the kitchen was extremely slow. We waited almost 45 minutes for our food to arrive. The second issue was the food itself.

My partner ordered the grilled rosemary pork loin with spinach quinoa cake, sauteed greens and pear compote. The greens were cooked perfectly and the spinach quinoa cake had a nice texture and flavor. However, the pork loin was dry! Not good! I ordered the marinated portobello mushroom over root vegetable stew topped with corn relish. The mushroom was seasoned and cooked well, but that is about the only positive thing that can be said for this dish. The root vegetable stew was much too salty, effectively destroying the flavors that one would have hoped for. The corn relish was relatively tasteless. In addition, this was a cold relish, which if fine. However, they placed it directly on top of the rest of the hot entree. Why they would place a cold relish on top of a hot dish stymies me. The only effect it had was to cool down the entree, reminiscent of that lukewarm experience when a dish has been sitting a bit too long in the kitchen.

We really wanted to love this place, particularly in light of the many positive reviews. Perhaps they were having an off night??

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great soup, sandwiches & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Found this recommendation on Trip Advisor - family of four ate here today for lunch. Finding parking on the street was the only thing we didn't like about our visit. There are lots of one-way streets so the GPS is the way to go. Five Loaves is right on the corner.

We arrived about 11:15 and there were plenty of open tables but when we left at noon there were people waiting for tables so definitely get there early.

My youngest son had the grilled cheese off the kids menu along with a bowl of tomato soup, my other son had the roast beef sandwich and tomato soup with crab meat garnish, my husband had the roast beef sandwich with Mexican chicken soup, and I had the turkey cranberry sandwich with tomato soup. Everyone loved what they had and the bread was really fresh. The service was great and they were quick with refills and the check.

We would definitely eat here again when we come back to Charleston.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Outstanding fresh local menu with 3 special features each night. Apps, salads and main entre were very flavorful and oh so very delicious. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Our server TC was fabulous. So knowledgeable, great suggestions and made you feel very special. We were in Charlston for 3 nights and so enjoyed 2 dinners at 5 Loaves and plan to return to Charlston soon just to dine at 5 Loaves. A terrific dining experience and in our opinion the best of Charlston

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Loaves Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Five Loaves Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Loaves Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.