We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinnner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 82 Queen

82 Queen
82 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-723-7591
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
82 Queen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: King & Meeting
Description: Celebrating Lowcountry cuisine for 32 years. 82 Queen continues to reinvent the traditional South using fresh, local ingredients and modern takes on the classics. The seasonal menus feature authentic Lowcountry cuisine from award-winning she-crab soup to Lowcountry jambalaya and shrimp and grits, all served with gracious hospitality. Enjoy lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch in 19th-century dining rooms or in the brick courtyard underneath a breathtaking Southern magnolia tree. Southern Living and Wine Spectator awards confirm the restaurant as one of the finest dining establishments in the heart of downtown Charleston. Long live the Queen.
NE PA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Dinnner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our dinner in the courtyard. Despite the hot temps outside, the beautiful trees and circulating fans kept us comfortable. Our waiter was friendly and all of our food came out quickly (almost too quickly, as when we go out and spend more money on a dinner for such a special occassion we don't mind more of a lapse between courses). We both had the she-crab soup which was as awesome as they say. Hubby had the crab cakes which he said were delicious. I had the catch of the day which was cobia and it was cooked perfectly and served over a delicious mix of brussel sprouts, tart apples, and goat cheese. There are other interesting combinations I would have liked to try so this place is definitely recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your dinner with us on your Anniversary. We are very pleased to know that you also really enjoyed our atmosphere out on the patio! Please come back to dine with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    372
    187
    92
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant venue, ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Liked: courtyard setting, well-spaced tables, service. The two people who had the duck special with cherry glaze raved about it. No actual dislikes, just disappointment in the overall bland, non-creative food, A whole flounder on the hairy side of being overcooked was served with a crunchy crust that wasn't enough to "make" the dish: a sauce was needed. Swordfish special was a properly juicy steak with no special saucing or spicing, served on a weird bed of tart apple/Brussels sprouts/goat cheese each of which alone might have been good but in combination produced bites of bad surprise. Shrimp with bourbon sauce on cheese grits was good but not special: just boiled (not spiced and grilled) shrimp with a wan sweet sauce (however I liked the grits). Key lime pie and trio of sorbets were good but not special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We found 82 Queen on a hot day while. The patio has fans keeping the air circulating - what a treat!

The food was fresh and wonderfully prepared, the wait staff professional and friendly, and the ambience soothing. I highly recommend for a relaxing meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best place for the southern cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Both the menu choices and the preparation of the food made us enjoy this place more than any other one of the Charleston restaurants focusing on the local cuisine. The service was both friendly and efficient. If we get back to Charleston, we will make sure to go there again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at 82 Queen, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our local cuisine at 82 Queen. We will be sure to let the chef know! Please come back and dine with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had eaten here for a late lunch and it was wonderful. The biscuits and SheCrab soup was to die for - go it is worth it. One of the best meals I had in Charleston.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 82 Queen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 82 Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 82 Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.