We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griffon

Griffon
18 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2114 (Downtown)
843-723-1700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Mohrsville, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun Place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We just got done our walking tour & were famished. We walked in & sat down at first thought we would not get served. There was only one waitress (she did a great job but they might want to think about adding another waitress/waiter for the lunch hour) but In less than 5 minutes, she had ice teas on the table & our order in. Our food came out very quickly. My husband got a club sandwich & fries, which he really enjoyed. It was made with home made bread that looked so good. I had a cuban & fries & it was so good with fresh pork on ciabatta. Just what we needed & prices were reasonable.
2 other people from the tour also came in & their food also looked very good. They had a crab sandwich, soup & a salad. We also noticed a lot of working people from the area enjoying lunch there which is always a good sign.
There are dollar bills hanging everywhere & it was a fun place to go for lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    97
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Service non existent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I do not know if we hit this place on an off day or what because our experience with service was not like all the other comments. We walked in and were greeted but that ended it. We waited and nothing, we walked to the bar, nothing. We sat at the table...still no waitress came. So we got up and left. Obviously we can not comment on the food but were not impressed at all by the lack of service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, casual pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Food is very good, service is friendly and likable. Usually have lunch there with colleagues at least once a week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint pub to stop in and grab lunch. Good beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Walking around downtown. Very close to waterfront park. Great AC and craft beer. The crab cake sandwich was alright and the fish n chips were good. Lunch and 4 beers $50 with tip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Went for drinks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went for drinks and have a few apps. It was a fun place to check out in downtown Charleston with some friends. There's dollar bills hanging all over the interior which made for some interesting decor. Everything was good. Lots of good beer options. Go check it out for some drinks with friends.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.