We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly little pub on a Charleston side street.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griffon

Griffon
18 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2114 (Downtown)
843-723-1700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great friendly little pub on a Charleston side street.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Daughter, son-in-law, grandson and I stopped here for lunch while wandering around downtown Charleston. (Coincidentally, I have a dog named Griffon.) Immediately seated and beverage orders taken but then a little slow in returning for food orders. A little on the busy side and not quite enough wait staff, but that may not always be the case; however, it was a Saturday so I would assume lots of tourists in the area. Standard pub menu and there were so many items that got my attention, but I'm a sucker for a good Reuben and this one was definitely one of the best I've had! A tad bit pricey, lunch for four (including the kid selection for the 8-year old) totaled $90 including tip, but that also included 3 glasses of wine, so understandable. It's worth a return visit, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Oh, the walls are covered in one-dollar bills that have apparently been provided by visitors; my grandson added one near the door!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    107
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Free Money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Not exactly. The entire interior of this place is covered with dollar bills signed and decorated by visitors over the years. Sports teams, schools, partners, etc., are all named on these currency "post-its" which are stapled on the walls, ceiling and rafters. The fish and chips, touted as "Charleston's Best" were disappointing as I found them to be very heavily breaded and nearly over-fried.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun Place and Great Wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Fun bar with nice people.
Great to hang out and have a few drinks and bar food.
Had some excellent wings and nachos.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best fish n chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you like a British Pub atmosphere, you'll love this place. The wait staff was fun and lively, cold beer, delicious fish and chips and we decorated a dollar and stapled it to a wall like the thousands of folks before us!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“mmmmm' fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Two familes on vacation and we read the reviews for this place. It was just as described in other reviews. Very good fish and chips - light breading and a very delicious fish. We all liked it very much and we all got the fish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Griffon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.