We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Name is Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FIG

FIG
232 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 805-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
FIG is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
NYC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Name is Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We found out that FIG stands for food is good and it certainly is! So is the atmosphere and service ( though my husband felt it was a bit pretentious). Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    157
    67
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb meal, service and ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fig was recommended by 2 people prior to our arrival in Charleston. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent start to finish. The service was friendly and efficient. I can highly recommend Fig and would definitely visit again when I am next in Charleston. Fig makes food an art.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wow. Yum. These folks are craftsmen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are lucky enough to get in, you are in for a treat. The bar's "mixologists" know what they're doing. I usually make fun of bartenders being called mixologists, but this bar is the exception. Think Daniel Boloud with a cocktail shaker...they instinctively know what to do.

A combination of the super-fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and a truly talented kitchen are a recipe for success...and they know it. While the menu is seasonal and they may not have the tomato taste tatin in a few weeks, if they do GET IT. My description won't do it justice, but trust me. Warm tomato, carmelized onions, and a flaky crust was transformative. The gnocchi with lamb bolognese was the best gnocchi dish I've ever had. That gnocchi...I don't know what they do, but they had deep flavor and absolutely ethereal texture. Think of a delicious, fluffy pillow.

Fish stew with grits...doesn't sound gourmet, does it? It was exquisite, the broth so flavorful without being saturated with flavor. Perfectly balanced. I won't go into desserts, because I'm getting lazy, but it doesn't matter. Pick one, any one, and it will be perfect. My Meyer Lemon pudding was very, very good.

Go. Enjoy. You will not regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent end to a fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Everything was perfect at FIG. We could tell it was several notches above other establishments rated by Trip Advisor for Charleston. We are five women who travel for our reunions once a year. We all enjoy a good meal, great service and atmosphere and that is what we found at FIG. We started with three appetizers; the gnocchi, tomato tart and pate. All were worth cleaning your plate for with the delicious bread. Next those among us ordered steak, grouper and pork belly and everyone raved about not just the meat/fish but the sides as well. We did not order dessert. Anyway, Another plus was the round table. It was a place we found it easy to relax and be together in. The service was attentive without being overbearing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“AMAZING SMALL PLATES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our hotel was right across from this restaurant and we were looking for something small before we retired for the night. While looking at the outdoor menu, a couple told us we MUST eat there, so we did. We ordered three appetizers that were offered that night: Ricotta Gnocchi, Tomato pie and a salad. The flavors were superb! The Gnocchi literally melted in your mouth! Prices were fair and service was great!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FIG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.