We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FIG

FIG
232 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 805-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
FIG is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
Paso Robles
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

There is a reason why this restaurant is booked 8 weeks out for a 7:00 reservation - it's the BEST place in Charleston. We took a 5:30 reservation just so we could dine there on our 3 night stay in Charleston. The food was fabulous and the wine list was equally great! The menu is very creative.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    178
    73
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff immediately gets credit for not making me feel like an idiot, when I didn't realize OpenTable had bumped me from Wednesday the following week to the Wednesday in four weeks from when I initially made my reservation. They said it had happened before (not sure if this is true, but I appreciated this potential lie because I would have never heard the end of it from my wife).

We were put on a list and happily volunteered to join a community table if that opened up first. We had time for great cocktails at the bar and then were invited to join the community table. Everyone there was getting their check, but we still had time to get some recommendations and chat a bit. Nobody else ended up joining us, so we had a massive table to ourselves.

They were very accommodating to my vegan wife with our shared vegetable salad, and her entree -- chef's pick of farm fresh veggies. I had the gnocchi with meat sauce, which was excellent.

Staff was great, drinks were nice, and the ambiance was exactly what we were looking for -- what I call nice casual.

It is not a surprise that this was the one restaurant that was on every list when we asked friends for recommendations. We'll definitely head back to FIG on our next trip to Charleston!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food is GREAT. A great menu with fresh local foods. A perfect spot for dinner.
Staff is superb, knowledgable and friendly... A perfect combination
If you can only hit one restaurant in a charleston, this is the one

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Charleston has some great restaurants, many of which are known for their great low country cooking. For a different experience, akin to whatever fine dining you would have in NY, Phila, Frisco, etc., you must try Fig. The ambiance and service were both great, and the chef can really prepare some great dishes. Since the menu changes daily, you may not find the exact same items we experienced, but we are looking forward to visiting again for some great new taste experiences. The star of the night was a pastry shell appetizer with a thin layer of garlic, onion and an amazing tomato concoction which I am still dreaming about. Of course, our nine vegetable salad was great also. All of us had fish so perfectly prepared that we would have liked to have rotated the table every so often to try someone else's dish. And the La Columbe coffee was a great ending to the meal. Do not miss this superb dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best food we had in Charlestown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Charlestown for several days and had the pleasure of eating in many of the best restaurants. This was the best. I had swordfish which was perfect. Our appetizer was also excellent. The service was perfect. Wine list was ok.
Highly recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FIG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.