We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FIG

FIG
232 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 805-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
FIG is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
Sanibel Island, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We absolutely LOVED FIG! The food was creative and so fresh! The 9 vegetable salad was so delicious and like no other salad I've ever had! We've been raving about FIG to everyone! Definitely a must! But make reservations a few weeks ahead to be sure to get in!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    159
    67
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Ask for Becca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

FIG was our first dinner in Charleston and we had done extensive research before lifting our first fork. We knew the chef-owner had won a James Beard award a few years ago and the buzz on FIG was very high.
We were lucky to snag a 5:30 Tuesday night reservation on Open Table 3 weeks before, so plan ahead to get one! As good as the food was, the most delightful part of our meal was our server Becca, who has served at FIG almost since it opened. Her genuine warmth and passion for the food showed. We wanted to order everything, but we took her advice and ordered the famous coddled egg, which was silky and memorable.
The soft shell crab with asparagus and the sauteed grouper were excellent. Becca's pride in her city and hospitality were a wonderful introduction to a beautiful city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a class act with passion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

FIG (food is good) gets it. If you like to dine this is a great place for you. We are from the Boston and #9 Park is our favorite restaurant there but in Charleston FIG is the class act. All the staff understand what they are doing and do it very well. The quality of the food is tops and the chef is very creative. Fresh is the standard.
But, you should dine...if you just want a meal this may not be where you want to be. The experience of eating at FIG is to be savored.
The waitstaff is very professional, and passionate about their restaurant and food. this restaurant is a pleasure for the tastebuds and the rest of you too.
simply put, if you love great food you need to eat here and make a night of it.
I will mention that all the restaurants in Charleston seem to be casual, FIG is too but if black tie was the dress code I would still make a point of eating there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Accolades well deserved: Don't Miss FIG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was lucky to be online a month before we came to Charleston and get a Monday evening reservation. Dining here was perfection form a silky, rich liver pate, to a perfectly prepared nine vegetable salad. The fish entree was perfectly executed and the squab with beets on the menu that evening was exceptional. They have a very fun cocktail list including some well conceived Negronis, and reasonably priced and organized wine list. Service is as good as the food. This place is so popular that even the staff have a hard time getting a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fresh. local, sustainable, and sooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had so many great meals in Charleston and this was no exception. Make a reservation if you don't want to miss out. The service was wonderful and the menu even more so. We had fish, chilled asparagus soup, local beer, and a great strawberry rhubarb cobbler. It was well worth the money and 5:30 dinner reservation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FIG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.