We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - very unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FIG

FIG
232 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
(843) 805-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
FIG is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Hasell
Alpharetta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food - very unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place was pricey, but everything we had was delicious. The onion soup as an appetizer was fantastic and the gnocchi melted in our mouths.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    671
    134
    59
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lived up to all the hype...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I dined here after reading many many many reviews. So glad we did! Definetely lived up to all the great reviews. We had the ricotta gnocchi with lamb bolognese and the nine vegetable salad for appetizers - both wonderful! My husband had the wagyu beef and I had the fish stew cocotte. I keep thinking about how I wished I could have finished that stew. It was amazing! Still thinking about it today.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Second trip and still the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My son and I had reservations at FIG on a Friday night around 10:00. The place was buzzing with good energy even at that time of night. I find FIG to be a brilliant combination of contemporary and southern cuisine. The staff is above Par, our server from a year ago remembered us and came to our table to say hello! Who does that? Thats a great staff !My 12 year old son had steak tartare and it was some of the best we had ever had. The cheese gnocchi with lamb was spectacular. The drink menu was well conceived and I enjoyed many fine Gin cocktails. My son tried the new vinegar's, how cool is that. The kitchen is cutting edge and I can't wait for my next trip to FIG.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous foodie favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I dined alone at FIG, and as awkward as that can sometimes be, this was great. It's hard to get a reservation here, but as a walk-in I was given a choice of a comfortable seat at the bar or a seat at the community table. I chose the bar, and joined several other friendly foodies who knew the right mix of saying hello, but not try to spend the whole evening telling me about the last 29 great restaurants they had been to. Bartenders were wonderful servers, and the full menu is available at the bar. I had two appetizers and dessert, and a lovely glass of wine. Everything was exceptional, fresh, creative and delicious. I would definitely make a reservation for a next visit (call a month ahead).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howe Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

No fluff, no bubble, just exceptional by service by Jamell and a memorable meal. If it's offered, try the seafood stew and ask the skilled staff to match the wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FIG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.