We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively place, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FIG

FIG
232 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 805-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
FIG is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
Madison, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lively place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

In the heart of the tourist district, so the restaurant may be tempted sometimes to offer less-than perfect service or food, but they generally do a good job and an evening there was enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    178
    73
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
COLOMBIA
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“EXCELENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

There are only 3 words to explain our experience at Fig: excelent, excelent, excelent.
Everything we ordered was fantastic. We had a delicious Wahoo tartare , fantastic grouper and the best Chocolate Boudin. My husband had a marvelous lamb steak.
Reservations are hard to get but not impossible. Keep trying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best meal we've ever had in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Oh my. We had a wonderful birthday meal at FIG. Made reservations 3 weeks in advance, hoping it would be worth it, and I'm happy to say, it was. Our server was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.The tomato tart appetitzer was intensly flavored with a flaky, crunchy crust. The entrees (lamb for me, fish for my husband) were amply portioned and delicious. Our server suggested the sorghum cake with malt ice cream, which I would have never ordered on my own, and it was a wonder. The food was not overly fussy, or overseasoned or oversauced--just perfect. Not inexpensive, but an excellent value for the quality of the food and the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have to admit that this is one of the top meals that my wife and I have ever had anywhere. Cool atmosphere; waiter (Tim) and helpers very attentive; food presentation artful; taste was amazing (oysters fresh, arugula salad great, wreckfish for her perfectly cooked, pork for me was tender); asked Tim for wine pairings (studying to be a sommelier) – great choices at reasonable price; deserts were perfect. This place has “it”.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Farm to table to delicious memory.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

On your next trip to charleston, don't miss this gem of a restaurant. The concept is farm to fresh but is the execution that delivers one of the most memorable meals my wife and I have had. Our waiter was helpful and pleasant. The food from appetizer to desert was incomparable. Reservations are hard to getso plan ahead but dont miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FIG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.