We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussells Are A Must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 39 Rue de Jean

39 Rue de Jean
39 John St, Charleston, SC 29403-6432
843-722-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in historic downtown Charleston , SC , 39 Rue de Jean is a refined French cafe and bar offering the best in classic Brasserie cuisine. The creations of our culinary team pay homage to the classic brasserie cuisine that inspired vehemently loyal Parisians. Guests of 39 Rue de Jean enjoy indoor/outdoor patio seating, cocktails and a predominantly French wine list blended with a selection of our steward's favorites.39 Rue de Jean offers a private dining room that can be transformed to host professional gatherings or celebratory affairs, accommodating up to 200 guests. This unique space, overlooking Upper King Street, features vaulted ceilings, exposed brick and a private entrance
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mussells Are A Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went here last week on our last night in Charleston. We split many appetizers - a cup of onion soup and potato leek soup both were very good. We also tried the bone marrow appetizer which was spectacular - this is definitely a must try. The steak tartare was tasty as well, it was chopped steak and had lots of garlic, capers and lemony. The frisee salad was our least favorite because we felt that the dressing was too vinegar and it did not have enough bacon lardons. We also split the curry mussels which were delicious. The broth was pure perfection and not overpowered with curry. The service was definitely not warm and fuzzy but adequate. The waitress took our order and she showed up only to bring us our bottle of wine and then she disappeared only to pick up empty plates off our table without a word. Go for the food and especially the mussels. Very affordable and the restaurant itself was very large with a definite Parisian theme.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
TravelAddict6987

We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience with us at 39 Rue de Jean. We appreciate your kind words and review. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Holy City.

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Virginia's on King, Vincent Chicco's, Michael's on the Alley, Victor Social Club, The Islander, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    233
    64
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

As indicated in several other reviews, this is not a sedate, quiet place. It is boisterous and several patrons were obviously drunk at a nearby table during our visit and they were very loud. When we walked by several other times during our visit, it always looked big, busy and loud so that is what we expected. Nobody in our group cared about ambiance; we came for the food and we were very happy with what we were served.

I don't know much about French food, but everything on my plate was excellent. The duck confit was perfect. It came with sauteed mushrooms that were scrumptious. The goat cheese potato croquette was crispy on the outside and smooth on the inside. The combination was delicious and the portions were large enough that I could share.

My wife and daughter were very happy with their meals, and service was good. Overall, it was a very good dining experience and we will go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dpb123,

We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience with us at 39 Rue de Jean, despite the noise. We appreciate your kind words and review. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Holy City.

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Virginia's on King, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The food here is good. But be prepared, it can get very loud inside. We ate here on a Friday night and there was a group of guys in the bar area whose conversation was broadcast to the entire restaurant. Not sure if that is the norm, but if you are looking for quiet and romantic, look elsewhere. Not exactly the atmosphere we were expecting, but the food was fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
TripNav,

We are sorry about the noise you encountered during your visit to our restaurant, 39 Rue de Jean, but do appreciate your kind words regarding our food and service.When you visit the Holy City again, we would love another visit from you. (You may want to ask to sit in the back room, the noise is muffled by the surrounding walls.)

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Virginia's on King, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Should be called Rude de Jean...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

First let me state we consider ourselves local.. We have eaten here before. Our son and his new fiancé were back in Charleston for a big weekend celebration. When part of the party arrived they were told it would be a 45 min wait and decided to take a table outside. This wouldn't have been a problem except when my husband and I arrived this table was practically in the alley, no patio heater on that side and (it was a balmy 60 degrees). I approached the hostess explained that if another table inside became available could we be relocated as it was rather chilly - her comment was "Well the guy in the green shirt said it was ok! " just a friend in the party. WHAT - Who's paying the bill here? It took 45 min for turkey sandwiches, soup and mussels which we ate quickly and left. The manager didn't even come to the table- no comment or mention of the location or cold. It was as if they had blinders on and didn't want to approach. An offer of a warm beverage would have been a small compensation for the alley location! Needless to say, we learned our lesson, if you don't get a table here go down the street there are plenty of accommodating restaurants in Charleston...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Something AWESOME for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you don't like French food, you should eat here anyway!
Awesome burgers, fries are fantastic...and excellent specials and steaks plus the usual French goodies.
Really is something for everyone. And the servers are awesome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
William,

We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience with us at 39 Rue De Jean. We appreciate your kind words and review. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Holy City.

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Virginia's on King, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 39 Rue de Jean also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 39 Rue de Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 39 Rue de Jean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.