We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commence with Dessert at Kaminsky's!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
78 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401
843-853-8270
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Pinson, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Commence with Dessert at Kaminsky's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The chocolate malt is not to missed! Too crowded - place your to go order at the counter near the front door. A different selection of delectable desserts each day - go more than once while in Charleston!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kaminsky's in Downtown Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    299
    118
    45
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

chocolate cake and chocolate martini--a complete balanced diet!-- (Actually, we ate next door at TBonz first which was very good)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum! Hard to decide what to get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The only problem is figuring out what to order. The cakes all look delicious. We had coffee drinks that were good and then had chocolate heaven cake. The cake was light and moist - awesome! Also has delicious pecan pie, raspberry cheesecake, and banana cream pie. They did not have red velvet cake that day which was a little disappointing since even the locals had raves about it. Planned to take some things home to go but with the heat and size of desserts didn't even try. Would go here again. People next to us got shakes and brownie sundaes which looked delicious too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We look forward to having you back the next time you are in town. Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at Kaminsky's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Let me eat cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a fun place. Wish I could have ordered one from each category- a piece of pie, a slice of cake, a milkshake, a coffee but this was only to be a snack. I had the white vanilla tiramisu cake. Yummy. Real whipped cream. A bit crowded and a bit noisy but I think that demonstrates how good this cafe is!! Will go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Kaminsky's! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our delicious variety of desserts. We greatly appreciate you feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I dropped by for dessert and a coffee and it was delicious! We ended up with mochachinos though we had ordered macchiatos, but we thought it was much better, so no problem for us. :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Kaminsky's! We are thrilled to know that you and your husband enjoyed your experience with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.