We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location & a fabulous dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circa 1886 Restaurant

Circa 1886 Restaurant
149 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1733 (Downtown)
843-853-7828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful location & a fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We attended a private benefit wine dinner here...The venue is beautiful & the dinner courses & wine pairings were inventive & flavorful. Overall a wonderful setting & a great meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    95
    42
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate dinner here for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The restaurant is a very quaint environment with a couple of rooms that makes the place more cozy and the perfect place for a romantic dinner. The service was first rate with our servers providing just enough help and attention and not be overbearing. Our server Jason was excellent. The food was fantastic - very fresh, perfect temperature, and seasoned nicely. Try the peach soufflé for dessert. We will definitely return on our next trip to Charleston.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Happy anniversary! Thank you for your review – we deeply appreciate the kind words and feedback. We hold our service to the highest standards and are very pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and attentive. We are glad that the peach soufflé provided a perfect ending to your evening.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful option, good food, service was a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I chose this place to entertain three important clients. The building was beautiful and had that old Southern charm to it. While the menu was good, we all found the food to be just ok. I wasn't disappointed and certainly liked my meal but I won't run to go back if that makes sense. We had a larger party and there was only one other family eating in the restaurant however, our service was very slow. I couldn't figure out why that was but overall and good meal, not a great one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing Circa 1886 with your clients. Our entire team is committed to delivering guests with a flawless, five star dining experience in all areas. We are sorry that our food and service fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we certainly hope that you will visit again in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Justly famous great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of traveling to beautiful Charleston to visit dear friends living nearby. They recommended Circa 1886 as one of their favorite restaurants in a city known for its fine dining, and now we know why. We were served drinks in the early evening on the open air patio and it was a wonderful start to a great dining experience. The food was superb in every way (my pork shoulder entree was especially memorable) and I also had a chance to sample a little bit from my wife's and friends' plates, too. I can honestly say that I could have enjoyed every item on the menu (and, since we've been invited back to Charleston to visit, I'll happily revisit that menu, too!). As others have noted, the service is top notch as well. Needless to say Circa 1886 more than deserves its reputation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We take great satisfaction in knowing that our menu selections and service team exceeded your already high expectations. We are thrilled to have created such a memorable experience and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful restaurant, in a beautiful setting. We were kindly greeted and seated quickly in the small dining room. Our servers were initially very attentive and helpful. After sharing the quail for an appetizer, which was delicious, I ordered the pork shoulder while my wife had the bass. The pork seems like a wonderful idea, and the presentation was terrific, but somehow they managed to turn one of the most naturally moist and tender cuts of meat into a dry, chewy mess. The bass was the better option but was perhaps a little bland. The souffle for dessert was delicious, but the peaches werent particularly tender which was a bit odd. Overall, it was a pleasant enough dining experience, but by the end of it we were ready to cut our losses but unfortunately the aforementioned attentive service had all but disappeared. I really hope we were just there on a bad night because it truly is a beautiful place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa 1886 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.