We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circa 1886 Restaurant

Circa 1886 Restaurant
149 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1733 (Downtown)
843-853-7828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant and special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is probably the closest thing to fine dining that one will experience in this day and age. Don't get me wrong. I have no complaints. I just miss the days when one walked into a classy fine dining restaurant and all the men were wearing a jacket and tie and the ladies were impeccably dressed. Circa 1886 is the type of restaurant that deserves this. Everything spells classy. The decor, the ambiance. The food is delicious and the presentation is beautiful. The selection of dishes made it difficult to choose. I love it when the menu includes something somewhat unique. I had the antelope (as did my daughter) and it was delicious. We felt well taken care of. The staff will make you feel special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing and thoughtful review of Circa 1886. We pride ourselves in providing a classic fine dining experience, so your comments regarding our service and menu selections are greatly appreciated. We hope you are able to dine with us again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    95
    42
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pryor, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

You will love it, charming, great food, wine choices and wonderful service. Not cheap but worth it for a special occasion.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This restaurant is located in a beautiful mansion in downtown Charleston and it's surrounded by gorgeous properties with incredible landscaping. Circa 1886 wasn't our first choice, but we were so happy that we fell into this restaurant. The ambiance, wine list, menu, and dessert menu were just fantastic. The food was well portioned (esp for a restaurant this high caliber) and was just absolutley divine. It was definitely a restaurant that created a dining experience as we were there for a little over two hours. As for the desserts....don't skip them! We ordered a couple (just couldn't resist!!) and they were absolutley phenomenal! I highly recommend this restaurant to couples or adult get togethers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The overall experience at Circa 1886 was exceptional. It was the perfect choice for our romantic getaway over the Fourth of July weekend. From the time we arrived, we were treating as if we were the only patrons for the night. The entire staff moved fluidly throughout the room making sure everything was perfect and every need was met. Our three course meal began with grilled Quail and a Heart of Palm salad for the appetizers. Next was the main course which consisted of the grilled Antelope, which was awesome, and the broiled Halibut that was magnificent. For dessert we chose the Peach souffle and the "pluff mud" pie, all were prepared wonderfully and the service was first class. I would highly recommend Circa 1886 Restaurant and it is on our agenda for the next visit to Charleston, SC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's hard to find a restaurant with the perfect combination of delicious and innovative cuisine, professionally friendly staff, intimate ambiance and reasonable prices for the quality of the experience. Circa 1886 has all of this and you can actually hear everyone at your table. The menu changes often enough to keep us coming back and has excellent choices for both comfort food lovers and adventure seekers. There are lots of great restaurants in Charleston, but Circa is always our favorite. And did I mention it has parking?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review of Circa 1886. It is quite an honor to be named your favorite restaurant in Charleston, as there are indeed so many wonderful places to eat. We appreciate your note about our seasonal menu. We love to provide our guests with a new, fresh experience each time they visit. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa 1886 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.